Semmelknoedel (Bread Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon in Bavaria. These are THE dumplings that we ate. Don't be fooled--I thought that the recipe looked a little weird, but it is perfect. Follow the instructions exactly, and you've got Oktoberfest in the making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
My mother used to make these and I loved them! This is the first recipe I've found (I never got hers) that tasted right! I followed the instructions exactly, (except I did make eight medium-sized dumplings instead of four huge ones)and they turned out perfectly! I didn't have to add the extra bread crumbs. Delicious comfort food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Made almost according recipe. I used 8oz regular white bread, and 8oz seasoned stuffing croutons. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely wonderful! These are so authentic yet easy to make. I froze some and they thawed great! Will make these all winter for some awesome comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Oct 26, 2008: These are great. I sauteed the onions with 3 strips of bacon, diced. Delicious. Update: Nov 13, 2008. I recently made this recipe again as a side dish for my parents 50th wedding anniversary party. We had about 70 guests, 90% of whom were German immigrants. We served these dumplings as a side dish with traditional German rouladen. We got rave reviews, and many requests for the recipe. Thank you! As I mentioned previously, I did add fried bacon to the recipe. I had to multiply the recipe by 8 and made them in 2 batches. I flash froze them on a cookie sheet and then put them in freezer bags until the party. They defrosted wonderfully, and only needed a quick reheating before serving. I still have about 2 dozen left in the freezer, and can't wait to serve them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This is the recipe poster. Just wanted to say thanks for the positive reviews! This is my first recipe on allrecipes and I'm so happy to know people tried it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Having an Octoberfest Party...tried before party and is was delish!!!It didn't sound like it was going to be good..but children and husband loved it. Try it...it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this to accompany the Sauerbraten I was making for Christmas dinner, and they were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly as written and I was a little afraid that they'd be a bit bland, but the weren't at all and they were wonderful with the gravy from the Sauerbraten. The only thing I did change was making a bunch of smaller dumplings instead of the 4 large ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These turned out exactly like my mother-in-law's. I will flavor them a little bit more next time, and also use 2 loafs of bread, as this only made about 7 knoedels. I will make again for sure, and thanks so much to the submitter as I now have written directions rather than just a verbal recipe from my m-i-l.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I am also of Bayerisch descent and this is right on the Mark! Nice going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States