Semmelknoedel (Bread Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
These were a great change of pace from mashed potatoes and gravy. Turned out perfect and so yummy. Got me thinking of what other kinds of breads I could use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made these for our German Christmas dinner and smothered them with German Pot Roast sauce and they were incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this to accompany the Sauerbraten I was making for Christmas dinner, and they were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly as written and I was a little afraid that they'd be a bit bland, but the weren't at all and they were wonderful with the gravy from the Sauerbraten. The only thing I did change was making a bunch of smaller dumplings instead of the 4 large ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These turned out exactly like my mother-in-law's. I will flavor them a little bit more next time, and also use 2 loafs of bread, as this only made about 7 knoedels. I will make again for sure, and thanks so much to the submitter as I now have written directions rather than just a verbal recipe from my m-i-l.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely wonderful! These are so authentic yet easy to make. I froze some and they thawed great! Will make these all winter for some awesome comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I am also of Bayerisch descent and this is right on the Mark! Nice going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Made these today, had it with beef roast and gravy. Followed the directions to the letter. Turned out SUPERB! They are not heavy in flavor, but what dumpling is? Dumplings are enhanced with what they are served with. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This is a very tempting recipe to eat!!!!! I couldn't stop and neither could my mom. I'm taking German at school though, and I think the spelling is SEMMELKNÖDEL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Oct 26, 2008: These are great. I sauteed the onions with 3 strips of bacon, diced. Delicious. Update: Nov 13, 2008. I recently made this recipe again as a side dish for my parents 50th wedding anniversary party. We had about 70 guests, 90% of whom were German immigrants. We served these dumplings as a side dish with traditional German rouladen. We got rave reviews, and many requests for the recipe. Thank you! As I mentioned previously, I did add fried bacon to the recipe. I had to multiply the recipe by 8 and made them in 2 batches. I flash froze them on a cookie sheet and then put them in freezer bags until the party. They defrosted wonderfully, and only needed a quick reheating before serving. I still have about 2 dozen left in the freezer, and can't wait to serve them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Made almost according recipe. I used 8oz regular white bread, and 8oz seasoned stuffing croutons. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States