Semmelknoedel (Bread Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
My mother is from Munich and she uses the left over dumplings in 2 different ways. One - she cuts them in half, slices them into 1/4" slices and then pan fries them in butter until lightly browned. Serve along side any meat dish. Two - do the same cut as above, add water to a large bowl, add cider vinegar to taste until you get the tartness you like and then add salt to taste. In the bowl, add the sliced dumplings along with 1/2 moon thin sliced onions. Refrigerate for at least 24 hours. Serve cold. The dumplings take on the vinegar taste and these are what I looked forward to when it was dumpling day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These are very similar to the Serviettenknodel my mother and Oma used to make. They didn't use onion, but did add a pinch of nutmeg to the seasoned cubed bread and sprinkled a handful of flour over the bowl and let it sit to dry for a few hours. They added the milk and egg mixture, and either formed orange sized dumplings, or tightly tied the whole thing into a large white linen napkin, or servietten. Then simmered it in salted water for about 1/2 hr. on both sides (turn it over in the water). You could always tell when it was done because it would give a nice hollow sound when thumped with a spoon. We let it rest a bit on a platter, then slice it and serve with pork roast and sauerkraut, and of course the pan drippings from the roast. Delicious!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Mine fell apart in the water - I actually used beef broth instead of water to cook them in. I missed the step that said add more bread and pulled it out and made it in to stuffing. Still received rave reviews from my German friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My husband is slovak and grew up with his grandma making these. I was a bit weary of how this would turn out..But he loved it the kids loved it too. I omitted the onions since my husband doesnt care for onions..flavor was a bit too bland for me but he really liked it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Not as good as my Grandma's but my first time trying these and I think my dough was just a bit too wet altho they did not fall apart. My Grandma always used stale brotchens which I highly recommend. These tasted great and the gravy from my pork roast was perfect drizzled over them. Gonna keep trying till I can make them as good as my Grandma. I just had to add that these are really incredible the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I followed instructions to a "T" and thought it turned out bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I'm Czech so know a thing or two about dumplings and these ROCK!! The addition of the sauted onions was awesome!! Be sure to let the bread soak for the 15 minutes so it's evenly moist and squishing all together is genius. I plan on doubling the recipe and tray freezing them so I always have them on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was delish and I only made the simple addition of a bit more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
So delicious! Thank you! Like other reviewers I thought that the they might turn out bland (the recipe list is deceiving) but they were perfect. I didn't have any fresh parsley so I used some dried rosemary instead. Very good and served them as a side to Dijon Tarrogon Cream Chicken on this site. If you are using that recipe be sure to add mushrooms. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
These were just ok. I served it with German Beef Rouladen and German Red Cabbage (going with a German theme). Used the gravy from the Rouladen on the dumplings. While my "test" dumpling held together they all started to sort of fall apart at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States