Semmelknoedel (Bread Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
this is exactly what I was looking for! I have tried to make these from a verbal recipe from my Oma, and they'd always fall apart. I did use a 12 pack of rolls from Smith's bakery, and since it was so dense, I added an extra 1/2 cup milk. after mixing, I let it all set for about 30 minutes, to kind of dry off the top. I brought water to a gentle boil, and did 2 batches of 5 smallish dumplings. excellent with any gravy, especially mushroom :) Vielen Dank, Peachy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I rolled mine up in buttered tinfoil in a log shape and boiled them ery Good with a sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
mine stayed gummy inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddonhauser

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I am German, well actually Bavarian :) and I always have these dumplings in my freezer for a quick lunch/dinner after uni. I highly recommend prepearing the dumplings and then freeze them without cooking. If you put the frozen dumplings in the fridge for defrosting and cook them in the evening, they are just perfect and taste like you just made the dough. Enjoy this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Love these dumplings! So much flavor. We went to Germany and after having bread dumplings in a restaurant I searched and searched for a recipe. This is it! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Haven't made them yet but will very soon! My paternal grandmother was from Osterhofen and always made these with roast pork and steamed apples! Not sure what I will serve 'em with though as I have been vegetarian for oodles of years now...I am sure O Mommy would not have approved ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Love this recipe! For a heartier version, I add about 3 heaping tablespoons of whatever leftover meat I have pre-cooked in the fridge (chicken, bacon, ham, beef, pork...) Just make sure not to add too much or the bread balls can fall apart. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Just like my grandma used to make! I have made these several times now. I also like to make the dumplings smaller (I make 8 instead of 4) and cook them on the top of a simmering soup, covering the pot in the last 10 minutes. You really need to use stale bread for best results. I have tried many different breads and potato bread does NOT work! Wheat bread is also iffy. Stick with any stale white bread and you will love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Family loved 'em, as good as Grandma's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GermanChef
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I grew up in Germany and used to eat these things all of the time. Great recipe. They are not the same unless you caramelize some unions and add over the top. It adds some sweetness as well as moisture. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GermanChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States