Semmelknoedel (Bread Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
My mother used to make these and I loved them! This is the first recipe I've found (I never got hers) that tasted right! I followed the instructions exactly, (except I did make eight medium-sized dumplings instead of four huge ones)and they turned out perfectly! I didn't have to add the extra bread crumbs. Delicious comfort food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon in Bavaria. These are THE dumplings that we ate. Don't be fooled--I thought that the recipe looked a little weird, but it is perfect. Follow the instructions exactly, and you've got Oktoberfest in the making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This is the recipe poster. Thanks for the positive reviews! This is my first recipe on allrecipes and I'm so happy to know people tried it!! By the way ... not sure how they calculate the number of servings in the summary. Eyeball it and get however many dumplings you get, but usually this recipe makes me around 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
We used a recipe very similar (exactly same ingredients but proportions different) but this one is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Thanks so much for this recipe. This was just one of the many different types of "knoedels" my Austrian Oma made for us. I made these for a chicken "stoup" we had for dinner last night and they were delicious. Didn't even need the bread crumbs. The only dumpling recipe I have of my grandmothers is the Potato Plum Dumpling which I have posted on this site. I remember her making a dumpling with fried pieces of pork fat in the center. To die for (literally), but worth the risk! She called them (Kram-eek) Knoedels. Anyone out there know what I'm referring to? Again, thanks so much Pietzsche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Having an Octoberfest Party...tried before party and is was delish!!!It didn't sound like it was going to be good..but children and husband loved it. Try it...it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I tried this last night and the first batch came out terribly. Even though the test ball stayed together, the rest of them completely fell apart and I had to throw out the entire batch. I addded half a cup of bread crumbs to the remaining mixture and tried again using low low heat. They stayed together for the most part and people ate them but I don't think I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Made almost according recipe. I used 8oz regular white bread, and 8oz seasoned stuffing croutons. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Oct 26, 2008: These are great. I sauteed the onions with 3 strips of bacon, diced. Delicious. Update: Nov 13, 2008. I recently made this recipe again as a side dish for my parents 50th wedding anniversary party. We had about 70 guests, 90% of whom were German immigrants. We served these dumplings as a side dish with traditional German rouladen. We got rave reviews, and many requests for the recipe. Thank you! As I mentioned previously, I did add fried bacon to the recipe. I had to multiply the recipe by 8 and made them in 2 batches. I flash froze them on a cookie sheet and then put them in freezer bags until the party. They defrosted wonderfully, and only needed a quick reheating before serving. I still have about 2 dozen left in the freezer, and can't wait to serve them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This is a very tempting recipe to eat!!!!! I couldn't stop and neither could my mom. I'm taking German at school though, and I think the spelling is SEMMELKNÖDEL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States