Semmelknoedel (Bread Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I am very sorry to say that this recipe did not work out for me at all. The Knoedel fell apart in the water to make a big bread stew. I had to toss it all away. I don't know if it did not have enough eggs, if I should have pressed them into tighter balls...no idea what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Great recipe that tasted delicious. Definitely keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I'm a little confused about this recipe. My dumplings are falling apart in my pot as we speak, despite adding bread crumbs. I'll try this recipe again, but only because it got such great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Made these for my german boyfriend, he just closed his eyes, grinned, and said they are "the real thing". Not sure the praise comes any better than that! My only advice would be to add a little milk, 1c didn't seem to be enough in mine, so I added a bit more and the consistency was great. Keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is the original bread dumplings recipe. If you stick with the measurements, you will find it very easy to make these perfect dumplings. What I would add is that it's very easy to know when the dumplings are ready: as soon as they rise to the top of the pot, you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I have tried to make these many times, they always fell apart. These were perfect!!! Just like my Austrian grandma made. They taste exactly like hers. Now i guess I will have to make a pork roast to eat them with, or i could just eat them all before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Oh boy... sorry. These were really oogie. Not my kind of dumpling at all. I will stick to flour dumplings, with a _small_ amount of bread for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blushing_unicorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
We serve these with creamy dill sauce served alongside roast pork or ham. Fabulous! My husbands austrian parent's way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
They don't get any better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
this is exactly what I was looking for! I have tried to make these from a verbal recipe from my Oma, and they'd always fall apart. I did use a 12 pack of rolls from Smith's bakery, and since it was so dense, I added an extra 1/2 cup milk. after mixing, I let it all set for about 30 minutes, to kind of dry off the top. I brought water to a gentle boil, and did 2 batches of 5 smallish dumplings. excellent with any gravy, especially mushroom :) Vielen Dank, Peachy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States