Scrumptious Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is the exact same recipe the was handed down to me by my Mother in-law, God bless her! My husband hates kraut, but loves these so much! He made me try them when we first got married 9 years ago and we have made them at the holidays, especially New Year's Eve, ever since! They are fantastic, unique and worth every bit of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Rettig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was awesome!!! My husband and I had sauerkraut balls at a German Restaurant in Columbus, OH a few years ago and have craved them ever since. This recipe was very close to the original. I made them as a Christmas appetizer and they were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I use vegetarian sausage when I want these and the meat-eaters still gobble them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Made these for the superbowl party, and they were "scrumptious". Alot of prep work but worth every effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
After sharing these with several people they all asked for the recipe. I also made the same recipe except I used corned beef instead of sausage and I cut the cream cheese in half and added 6 oz of shredded swiss cheese and used 1,000 island dressing as a dipping sauce. Basically, rueben balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Hubby and I host 2-3 "Beast Feasts" per year and yesterday I used this one and substituted venison kielbasa for the pork sausage. We had over 50 people show up and and everyone that tried one of these loved it...including the kids. I doubled the recipe and got a yield of 85. We had about 15 other dishes available, but this one was one of the favorites! Made a horseradish sauce for dipping just for fun. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very scrumptious!!!! Hubby is a very picky eater and loved these. I will deffinately make these again and am trying the rueben version this wk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These can be baked in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes instead of frying. they freeze well. My family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The work involved is worth it!I always dbl.the recipe because everyone loves them.I learned how to make these from my mom.She always made them for family gatherings.Only thing we do differently is snip w/scissors the kraut and lightly brown the balls in oil,then bake at 375 for 15 to 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Devich Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
pretty good, though i was trying to duplicate barley's balls from columbus ohio and just couldn't figure it out. i added butter and cheddar cheese to this, but it still seemed too sour :( someone told me to rinse your sauerkraut before draining it - i'l try this next time... i don't have a deep fryer, so fried in 1 inch oil in a deep pot on the stove for 60 sec - worked good:) best when served warma dn fresh - not so good after refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States