Scrumptious Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These were so good served with a creamy horseradish sauce. I made them a week ahead of time and froze them...they cooked great frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I wouldn't recommend this recipe unless you LOVE sauerkraut!!! Not a fan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
pretty good, though i was trying to duplicate barley's balls from columbus ohio and just couldn't figure it out. i added butter and cheddar cheese to this, but it still seemed too sour :( someone told me to rinse your sauerkraut before draining it - i'l try this next time... i don't have a deep fryer, so fried in 1 inch oil in a deep pot on the stove for 60 sec - worked good:) best when served warma dn fresh - not so good after refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The work involved is worth it!I always dbl.the recipe because everyone loves them.I learned how to make these from my mom.She always made them for family gatherings.Only thing we do differently is snip w/scissors the kraut and lightly brown the balls in oil,then bake at 375 for 15 to 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Devich Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These can be baked in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes instead of frying. they freeze well. My family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very scrumptious!!!! Hubby is a very picky eater and loved these. I will deffinately make these again and am trying the rueben version this wk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Hubby and I host 2-3 "Beast Feasts" per year and yesterday I used this one and substituted venison kielbasa for the pork sausage. We had over 50 people show up and and everyone that tried one of these loved it...including the kids. I doubled the recipe and got a yield of 85. We had about 15 other dishes available, but this one was one of the favorites! Made a horseradish sauce for dipping just for fun. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
After sharing these with several people they all asked for the recipe. I also made the same recipe except I used corned beef instead of sausage and I cut the cream cheese in half and added 6 oz of shredded swiss cheese and used 1,000 island dressing as a dipping sauce. Basically, rueben balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Made these for the superbowl party, and they were "scrumptious". Alot of prep work but worth every effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I use vegetarian sausage when I want these and the meat-eaters still gobble them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Boudin Balls

See how to make a crispy, meaty appetizer for game day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States