Scrumptious Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made these with cabbage. I like sauerkraut but did not have any. I had a half a head of cabbage I needed to use. They turned out great. I baked at 350 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
pretty good, but a lot of work. takes a long time to roll and assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffjergy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
These were awesome! I'll definitely make these again. I may try to use italian sausage (or 1/2 of pork sausage and 1/2 of italian sausage) to try to spice it up. I did bake them and they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Made these and they were excellent. I added some swiss cheese to these, I'm a big cheese fan, and they were great. Everyone loved them. Will have to make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetiksistah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
i first have to start off by saying i am a the biggest fan of kraut. (german) i even drink the juice!!! yikes. these balls are kinda weird. ?? i dont know if its the bread crumbs or what but not good. i did make the recipe as directed and also found it hard that once the balls were formed and needed to be rolled in the egg wash and crumbs they fall apart. i have tried to bake but they dont get crispy enough. will not try ever again. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These were so good served with a creamy horseradish sauce. I made them a week ahead of time and froze them...they cooked great frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I wouldn't recommend this recipe unless you LOVE sauerkraut!!! Not a fan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
pretty good, though i was trying to duplicate barley's balls from columbus ohio and just couldn't figure it out. i added butter and cheddar cheese to this, but it still seemed too sour :( someone told me to rinse your sauerkraut before draining it - i'l try this next time... i don't have a deep fryer, so fried in 1 inch oil in a deep pot on the stove for 60 sec - worked good:) best when served warma dn fresh - not so good after refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The work involved is worth it!I always dbl.the recipe because everyone loves them.I learned how to make these from my mom.She always made them for family gatherings.Only thing we do differently is snip w/scissors the kraut and lightly brown the balls in oil,then bake at 375 for 15 to 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Devich Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These can be baked in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes instead of frying. they freeze well. My family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States