Satiny Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Great on a chocolate zucchini cake baked in a bundt. I made the glaze in the microwave using a pyrex glass measuring cup, at 45 seconds for the chocolate chips, butter and corn syrup, stirring until smooth then adding the vanilla. Tip: spray the measuring spoon with non-stick spray before measuring the corn syrup and it will slide right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
729 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
DO NOT USE A STOVE! Microwave 45 seconds, stir, microwave 45 seconds, stir. If needed, microwave in 15 second intervals, stir. EASY, EASY, EASY. Use it while it is warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
604 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I didn't have corn syrup so I substituted it with honey. I also didn't have a double boiler so I used a ceramic bowl in a saucepan of boiling water instead, and it still worked great! Easy and simple for amateurs like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
In a word, excellent. This will be in my permanent recipe file and will be used over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This recipe is great! I doubled the ingredients, tossed into a 4 cup glass measuring cup, microwaved for 30 seconds and stirred. It took about three rounds in the microwave before being smooth. The glaze hardens to a nice consistency. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Excellent texture and excellent flavor. I had the impression this would be a thin glossy liquid type glaze, but its more along the lines of a frosting. BUT STILL VERY GOOD! Thanks Ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This is one of my favorite recipes from this site. It is super easy and so versatile - I've used it on cakes (a boxed cake mix made in a bundt pan and this make a great, pretty, quick treat), doughnuts, ice cream, brownies, eclairs, cream puffs, garnish for chocolate dipped strawberries (using white chips instead of semisweets), and even cookies. This is super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
This is a great, easy glaze. You can speed it up by melting the butter, chocolate, and corn syrup over medium heat, just stirring like mad so it doesn't burn. Add the vanilla last so it doesn't evaporate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I made this yesterday to top the "easy chocolate chip pound cake", also on this web site. This was a very simple and great tasting fudge-like topping. I made it in a smal skillet over low heat and stirred like crazy. My only complaint is that I was expecting something a bit thinner, more glaze-like. Mine ended up being thicker, like a regular frosting. I did add more corn syrup and vanilla to thin it enough to drizzle over the bundt cake. I will make this again, maybe next time trying a mixture of chocolate and peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I DON'T REVIEW RECIPES, BUT THIS ONE DESERVES TO BE RECOGNIZED! I've never made this any other way than this. Simply double the recipe, and put the chips butter & corn syrup in a 2 cup Pyrex measuring cup. Microwave on hi for 1 minute with a paper plate over it. Mix it well with a wire whisk, & microwave again on hi for 30 seconds. I use it on "Too Much Chocolate Cake" which is also on allrecipes. I've also used it to make the best chocolate covered strawberries anyone has ever tasted. (Dip them in the chocolate & put them on a tray lined with parchment paper or Reynolds Release non stick foil, & put them in the fridge to cool) Those will make you famous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S A N T I A G O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,021) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States