Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I doubled this recipe and made it in my slow cooker. Took about 3-4 hours on high, no need to mash the apples, they mushed on their own.. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I have a 30+ lb bag of apples from our apple tree that NEED to get used up so I took a chance and QUADRUPLED this recipe (praying for good results...otherwise I huge waste of ingrediants). My only change - I used a more apples than called for (6-7 apples X 4). My prayers have been answered!! My apples and effort have not gone to waste! I now have an economical recipe for applesauce that tastes wonderful and EVERYONE loves! Thanks a million phatcat! I'll be sure to repeat this recipe every fall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1445 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Excellent recipe!!! I think the type of apple you use will determine how much sugar you need. I doubled the apples and per the recommendation of the local produce manager, I used 3 empire and 5 macintosh. Since these are naturally sweeter than pie apples, I cut the sugar in half, using 1/4 cup for the doubled recipe. I also cut the cinnamon, since I only like a hint of it. Since a few reviewers talked about it being watery, I let it simmer for about 45 minutes. Once it seemed thick enough for my liking, I used the potato masher to make it smooth. Very easy and tasty recipe. You will have to adjust the sugar according to the apples and your personal preference. With the apples I used and cutting the sugar, we took a vote. Two thought the sweetness was just right and three thought it was a little sweet. However, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
976 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very good. I scaled-up the recipes and usd 10 apples, 3/4 c sugar ut only 1 c water since I cooked it in my slow cooker on high for four hours. Delicious. I added some extra cinnamon, ginger, cloves and nutmeg for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Awesome!! My first time making applesauce and it was delicious. I used cortland apples, and instead of sugar I added 4 packets of splenda and a little extra cinnamon. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This is one of the first things I've tried to cook, and I don't think it came out how it was supposed to, but I think the next time I make it, it will be even more wonderful!! I used 4 small gala apples and 1 medium granny smith, added a little bit more water, and kept the peels on for added nutritional benefit. Next time I will peel them and chop up the peels into much smaller bits and add 'em in...I'll also probably cook it a few minutes longer, I think I probably let it sit on the stove for about 21-22 minutes, stirring occasionally but a few more minutes would of probably been better. I also didn't use an exact measurement on the 1/2 t of cinn. (Just kinda eye-balled it with a 1 t) and it was the perfect amount. I will probably use a tad less sugar too. Anyway... all my non-skills at cooking aside, this tastes SOOOOO good!!!! Thanks phatcat for making one of my first cooking experiences a positive one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I make this exact recipe every autumn, and it never fails to impress people. It's so easy, and homemade applesauce is FAR better than the storebought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I am seriously sitting here trying to figure out why I buy applesauce. This is EXCELLENT!! I mean for as much as we hemmorage through it, (which is the reason I sought this recipe, I was out...and whats a pork chop without applesauce) I always have apples thanks to my apple tree out back & now I will never be without, thanks phatcat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This applesauce is delicious, though next time, I would cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Very delicious! My thirteen year old daughter is my applesauce "expert" and taste tester. She loves cinnamon so we added quite a bit more. This applesauce is wonderful served warm with a nice pot roast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Breakfast Rounds

Simple toasted English muffins with apples, peanut butter, and cinnamon glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States