Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used 5 small Honeycrisp apples that had passed my high standard for crunchiness! I peeled, roughly chopped and added 3/4c of water as directed, I added a few more tablespoons, which it turns out was not necessary. I added the cinnamon but no sugar and it was great. I barely mashed them, leaving lots of chunks. While I probably won't make this in general, I will use it every time I have a few apples that otherwise would be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The recipe is great with Granny Smith - the right amount of water, but cut the sugar back at least half. Made the second time with Gala, and could have eliminated most or all of the sugar (only used half, and was still too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I tripled this and put it in the crockpot. Instead of cinnamon I used pumpkin spice and my whole family couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Unbelievably easy. I had a recipe for Tropical Grilled Pork Chops. (See Allrecipe....so delicious!) but did not have any canned applesauce so made some with Sarah's Recipe. Perfect and obviously a lot healthier. I did drain off most of the water used to cook the apples before mashing them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllOurEggs.com
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I had leftover apples from stockings so I made one batch with one change. When I cut the apples I left the skin on them - they are the most nutrient-packed part of the apple. The skin becomes so soft they just mold right into the applesauce. Just like the skin of a potato, the skin of an apple is the best part - good for your lungs and brain - preventing cancer and controlling weight. Rethink peeling your apples folks. I also used one less tablespoon of sugar and they were plenty sweet. The sweetness will depend on what kind of apples you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllOurEggs.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Every winter we get a big bag of apples through a fundraiser, and last year I followed this recipe exactly. This is a pretty good recipe to start with, but I agree with the others that it needed less water and sugar than called for (hence one star off). But I think that is partly preference and partly the kind and/or size of apples you use, so some might find this recipe okay as is. Play around with it a bit. This year I cut up extra apples (4 medium ones and 2 very small ones), which was about 920g once it was peeled and chopped into 1-2 cm cubes. Since I added extra apple, I kept the water the same (3/4 cup) but still halved the sugar (about 2 Tbsp), intending to add more sugar later after I taste tested it. In the end it didn't need any more sugar since my apples were plenty sweet to begin with. I also don't like a ton of cinnamon in my applesauce, so instead of 1/2 tsp as written (like I did last year), this year I just put in a couple of dashes, which was just right for my taste. I cooked it covered on medium heat for about 15 min or a little more, stirring every five min or so. And since I like my applesauce without chunks, I pureed it with an immersion blender. (I pureed it while it was still hot so I could taste test and add sugar if needed, and let it cool after I was done meddling with it.) It produced about 3 cups of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Really easy. Hardest part is peeling the apples. I used 6 medium to large granny smith apples so the amount of sugar was perfect. I let them cook until the apples essentially dissolved, no need for blending or mashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Great recipe, and quite easy to do. I've made it several times now, for my partner who pines for his mother's homemade applesauce. If used different apples, from time to time, but find Granny Smiths work best. I run it through the food mill when it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is a perfect simple recipe. I was invited to a Chanukah celebration and everyone was so pleased to have homemade applesauce with their potato latkes! I am going to be making this on a regular basis because my husband loves applesauce on everything! I did reduce the sugar by about a half; but that was just for health reasons, not because the recipe wasn't perfect! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Omigosh it's superb! This is way faster than running to the store any time the kids have a hankering for the stuff. Can't wait to try new variations using other fruits and spices in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States