Sarah's Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
So easy! I had never made applesauce before and now I swear, I'll never buy it again. This recipe is perfect, though I would cut the sugar in half and experiment with some more spices next time (nutmeg, maybe a bit more cinnamon). I would also like to try it without the sugar at all...the apples I buy are pretty sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This apple sauce recipe is fantastic! Thank you very much for sharing with us. I made it , it was so quick to make, very easy, my son who is picky eater , he loved it. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
The amount of sugar and water needed will vary quite a bit depending on the types of apples that you use. I used a mix of Fuji and Gala apples (just using up what was in my fridge) and although I used five apples, a quarter cup of sugar was way too much. I also had quite a bit of liquid in with the apples when I was done cooking it. I also wasn't clear on how to time the cooking time. I started the timer once the liquid in with the apples was bubbling, and then let it simmer for 20 minutes. The apples were soft afterward, but a potato masher wasn't working at all. Dumped it all in a blender, pulsed a couple of times, and got a consistency I'm happy with. This recipe is a good starting point for someone who wants to make applesauce but doesn't know how, but it should have suggested starting out with a smaller amount of sugar and then increasing to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainwalkerSK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I thought it was delish and my kids loved it too. Followed the recipe exactly and it was way better than store bought for sure. Actually haven't had store bought since and probably won't unless I am in a rush or something. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Gallant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Fabulous applesauce! Used 3 gala and 3 macs in slow cooker. Just omitted water and it came out perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Not much of a cook, I never thought to make applesauce from scratch. Trying to follow a "clean" eating plan so this fit right in and I couldn't believe how easy and fast! Replaced sugar with coconut sugar and it was terrific! I will never buy jar sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I use this recipe every year and add it in muffins, for my boyfriend's birthday. It is delicious and tasty every time! I use Granny Smith apples, because of their sourness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
PERFECT every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used 5 small Honeycrisp apples that had passed my high standard for crunchiness! I peeled, roughly chopped and added 3/4c of water as directed, I added a few more tablespoons, which it turns out was not necessary. I added the cinnamon but no sugar and it was great. I barely mashed them, leaving lots of chunks. While I probably won't make this in general, I will use it every time I have a few apples that otherwise would be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The recipe is great with Granny Smith - the right amount of water, but cut the sugar back at least half. Made the second time with Gala, and could have eliminated most or all of the sugar (only used half, and was still too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States