Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very good! Didn't change a thing (except to use a scant 1-1/2 cups of sugar instead of an accurate full measure) - turned out perfectly. Not too sweet - moist and flavourful. Topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I consider myself somewhat of a carrot cake connoisseur. This is by far the best carrot cake I have ever made and tasted for that matter. And I followed the recipe, I didn't tweak anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M. Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made this for my husband's birthday using exact ingredients listed. It was delicious and better the next day. I made muffins with cream cheese frosting with lemon zest. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent, the only carrot cake recipe I've used for years. I have recently moved to AZ however and the altitude is around 7,000 feet, any tweeks I need to make would be greatly appreciated. I am using it as a base for a 2 tier cake & don't want it to fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Definitely make this a couple days ahead so the flavors meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Ma Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made it exactly as listed and paired it with Cream Cheese Frosting II for my three tier wedding cake. Even people who don't like carrot cake loved it! Carrot cake lovers thought it was one of the best they'd had. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The best my family has ever tasted !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
very moisty! very delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Bauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I've made a lot of cakes and my family said this was the best ever. Even the non carrot cake fans LOVED it. Everyone wanted leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site. (I think it is important to rate the recipe as written.)This cake recipe was great! It was moist but not soggy, and each bite was jammed packed with nuts, coconut, etc. - this works for me because I enjoyed the various textures. Lastly, I made this in a bundt pan because I wanted a more traditional looking cake; it took just over an hour to bake. I decided it was done from checking the sponginess of the cake by pressing on the top; I found the toothpick came out moist although it was done (I might have been inserting it into pineapple bits?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States