Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this carrot cake for Easter. Believe the reviews. It is divine! Checked cake about 40 minutes in because I thought 1 hour at the same temperature might dry it out. Lowered over to 325. It turned out perfectly. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as it is and it was by far the best carrot cake anyone in my family has ever had! I also used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site and that made it even better! I will be using this recipe for years to come...Thanks Sam!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Famous carrot cake is right. I did not make this myself, my aunt made this cake for Easter. I asked her if she made any changes and she just said she added a lot more shredded carrots. A LOT MORE. She did mention that she was worried about the cake turning out because the batter was very wet.......but speaking as one who had a piece, it was the best carrot cake I have EVER HAD. Very moist, very flavorful. She iced it with Martha Stewart's cream cheese icing. EXCELLENT CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I was very excited to try this recipe because it got such rave reviews. I made it according to the recipe, except I omitted the raisins and reduced the oil to 1/2 cup. It came out oily and dense and not very sweet. It was more like carrot bread than cake in my opinion. After re-reading the reviews, it appears most people made significant changes to the recipe and still gave it high marks, which is misleading to say the least. I don't think I'll be making this again. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
It's hard to rate this cake because the flavor itself was surprisingly good, but everything else was completely off. I originally chose this recipe because the other carrot cake I made from this site came out too dry and crumbly. This one had more wet ingredients and the pineapple sounded yummy. I followed the recipe pretty closely and only omitted the raisins and coconut. I baked it for about 45 minutes (I made a smaller amount to fit an 8x8 pan) and it had compacted into a really dense mass. It tasted incredibly wet, too, and at first I thought I hadn't baked it enough, but it didn't taste underdone. It was just so dense and moist that it didn't even feel or taste like a cake at all! I was very disappointed about that, but the taste itself was decent. I could taste more pineapple than I could carrot, but it wasn't bad. Overall, I'm pretty miffed that this didn't turn out well. I wasted good cake flour and frosting, and it made for a less-than-savory end to my Easter feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Followed exact recipe, didn't have too much flavor despite all the ingredients and ended up falling apart as it came out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I hate to say it, but this recipe is so much better then my cc that I have been making for 45 years. I have made twice now once exactly as written the second time I used golden raisins that I plump up it warm water. The second time I didn't have buttermilk and the buttermilk is a must. could tell the difference. Golden raisins were much tastier. I also used a 9x13 pan and cooked for 40-45 mins. used a cream cheese icing and had a cake that was addicting. My husband ate almost the whole cake in two days ( I helped a little, lol) Give this a try you will enjoy immensely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Sounds like the ultimate carrot cake recipe on the back of a Betty Crocker cake mix box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used 2 cups sugar, 1 cup drained crushed pineapple, and no raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
ive been making this particular carrot cake now for yrs..by combining 2 of my fav. recipes and making them into one it truly gives you the ultimate carrot cake.. its no wonder your grandfather received such rave reviews. its a shame i have to limit myself to making it just once a yr.. (Easter). otherwise id be eating it for breakfast lunch and dinner. lol..Happy Easter Everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States