Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I am ashamed to say my partner and I ate this whole cake in less than a week. It's perfect. As others suggested, we used the "Cream Cheese Icing II" recipe on this site to frost two rounds, but we could've used a tad more icing in the middle. Moist and dense. Drained the pineapple and the carrots, and plumped the raisins in their discarded juice. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a touch of cardamon because we like spice. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy Rhon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This is a delicious carrot cake recipe. I substituted 3/4 cup mashed, canned great northern beans ( with some of the bean juice) for the oil and everyone was amazed!! No one will ever guess and I love the idea of the extra nutrition instead of all the oil! You can use any color of beans that are similar to the color of the cake. This substitution will work in lots of other recipes too. Use black beans for brownies etc. Helps to have a lot of different flavors going on like in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This carrot cake is sooooo good!! I didn't change anything. I used the cream cheese frosting recipe from this site and it made the cake even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is an amazing recipe. I've made 4 dozen muffins (this recipe makes 2 dozen at a time). They are irresistible and my family and company couldn't leave them alone. No icing needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My changes - I omitted raisins b/c yuk, and used 3/4 cup of coconut b/c that's all I had. My husband said this was the best carrot cake he's ever had, and he LOVES carrot cake. I made this as his birthday cake. I put it in a round 12" pan, and baked for a bit over an hour. I made a butter cream frosting with a half block (4oz) of cream cheese, seasoned with salt, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg. YUM! The cake cooked perfectly - ZERO complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carress

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We consider ourselves carrot cake freaks. We are always looking for a new place to try the carrot cake but nothing, anywhere has come close to this. Hands down this is the best carrot cake we've ever tasted (and we've had a lot). I made it as noted with the cream cheese icing as recommended by others and it was a perfect match. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It truly is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I found this cake to be lacking in flavour. It's ok but not my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I made this cake for my brother's wedding. In the process of making his wedding cake I made 4 different varieties for the bride and groom to try and this was the favourite by a long shot. The cake was moist and flavourful. All the wedding guests loved the cake and there was none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Best ever!!! So moist and tasty I used a cream cheese icing recipe from this site and added 1/4 teaspoon of lemon extracting and I still would but just a drop the citrus was a nice addition to a rich cake. Thanks for an awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States