Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Really yummy cake! I substituted coconut sugar for the white sugar (1:1) and coconut oil for the oil. I only had Bob Mills shredded coconut on hand so that's what I used. It doesn't have any added sugar like the regular flaked coconut. I also followed the suggestion of another person who soaked their raisins in hot orange juice before draining and adding to the carrot/coconut/pineapple mixture. The cake turned out wonderful. I'm sure it would be delicious with the listed ingredients, too. I didn't add nuts simply because I'm the only one in the house who will eat them, but I do sprinkle toasted pecans over the glaze I made when I tried to make the "whipped cream cheese frosting" recipe suggested by another reviewer. Like others, my frosting came out runny. Instead of tossing it, I pour it over the cake when I serve it and then sprinkle toasted pecans on top of mine. The consistency of the frosting is a lot like creme fraiche but has the taste of a traditional cream cheese frosting. The presentation is very Bon Appetite looking :) My dad is diabetic and thoroughly enjoys the cake without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephoney
Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This the best carrot cake ever. My whole family loves this cake. Thank you Sam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The first day I made the cake I hated it and I felt like it has too much stuff in it and I could feel the carrots , the cake was also bland . The next day it got better but the third day in the refrigerator it got way much butter and I couldn't see the carrots and and every thing absorbed by the cake . The only change i've made is adding 1/4 tsp nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Show stopper! Rave reviews every time! So moist it is unbelievable. I add double the vanilla and use a pumpkin pie spice blend instead of the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Toovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnedosa, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I used to work for a restaurant named J. Alexander's for about 10 years and they have THE BEST CARROT CAKE I've ever had!! When I wanted to make one at home, I couldn't get their recipe because it's top secret! So, I decided that since I knew a lot of the key ingredients in their carrot cake I would do some searching through all the recipes on here and this is the one that sounded the closest! Minus the raisins (YUK) this recipe is AMAZING!!! And it is so very close to tasting just like J.Alexander's. I also made it with the Cream Cheese Frosting 11 recipe. YUM YUM YUM!!! Anyone that posts something negative about this recipe either has no idea what good carrot cake is supposed to taste like or they did something terribly wrong when they prepared it! Try this, you won't regret it! You will LOVE it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Exceptionally good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was my first cake from scratch and it turned out perfect. I loved the coconut flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have been hanging around All Recipes for a long, long time now. So many great recipes, so many wonderful tips from everyone to make them even better! I really feel like I know a lot of the contributors! I FINALLY JOINED myself, just to rate this recipe! I did a half version (10 servings) just to try it out. I used a combo of walnuts/pecans and in place of the buttermilk, used milk with about a 1 tsp vinegar. I chose to bake it in a 6 jumbo muffin pan (new size pan for me...love it) and also got 1 mini-loaf. I baked them about 23 minutes , and they came out perfect! I will make a cream cheese frosting later, but I was so desparate to have one like that, that I put some whipped cream cheese on top and sprinked with a good dose of confectioners sugar! Unbelieveably delicious cake! Thanks, Brian, for sharing your grandfather's recipe. It is sure a winner, like I'm sure he was, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
In a word? Phenomenal!!!! Served this to a group of 60 people and many begged for the recipe saying it was the best cake they'd ever tasted. Made exactly as written except for the walnuts, which I didn't have on hand. Many thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This cake was so good. I followed the recipe as written except for the raisins. It was very moist like a tres leches cake. I made it in 2 round pans and used the cream cheese II frosting from this site. I added pineapple juice to the frosting and it was fantastic. I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby Atilano Mattan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States