Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
It's hard to rate this cake because the flavor itself was surprisingly good, but everything else was completely off. I originally chose this recipe because the other carrot cake I made from this site came out too dry and crumbly. This one had more wet ingredients and the pineapple sounded yummy. I followed the recipe pretty closely and only omitted the raisins and coconut. I baked it for about 45 minutes (I made a smaller amount to fit an 8x8 pan) and it had compacted into a really dense mass. It tasted incredibly wet, too, and at first I thought I hadn't baked it enough, but it didn't taste underdone. It was just so dense and moist that it didn't even feel or taste like a cake at all! I was very disappointed about that, but the taste itself was decent. I could taste more pineapple than I could carrot, but it wasn't bad. Overall, I'm pretty miffed that this didn't turn out well. I wasted good cake flour and frosting, and it made for a less-than-savory end to my Easter feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Followed exact recipe, didn't have too much flavor despite all the ingredients and ended up falling apart as it came out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I hate to say it, but this recipe is so much better then my cc that I have been making for 45 years. I have made twice now once exactly as written the second time I used golden raisins that I plump up it warm water. The second time I didn't have buttermilk and the buttermilk is a must. could tell the difference. Golden raisins were much tastier. I also used a 9x13 pan and cooked for 40-45 mins. used a cream cheese icing and had a cake that was addicting. My husband ate almost the whole cake in two days ( I helped a little, lol) Give this a try you will enjoy immensely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Sounds like the ultimate carrot cake recipe on the back of a Betty Crocker cake mix box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used 2 cups sugar, 1 cup drained crushed pineapple, and no raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
ive been making this particular carrot cake now for yrs..by combining 2 of my fav. recipes and making them into one it truly gives you the ultimate carrot cake.. its no wonder your grandfather received such rave reviews. its a shame i have to limit myself to making it just once a yr.. (Easter). otherwise id be eating it for breakfast lunch and dinner. lol..Happy Easter Everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Mine was cooked perfectly at 45 mins! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My husbands favorite is carrot cake, so I am always looking for a great one to try. He loved the fruit bits and it was really moist. The only thing I changed was omitting the walnuts.(He doesn't like those in his carrot cake) I think next time I might use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil only because it's healthier. I always try to make the recipes the same the first go round before I change anything. I'd make it again. I used the cream cheese frosting recipe from the Awesome Carrot Cake with cream cheese frosting found on Allrecipes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Excellent carrot cake. The only modification that I did was to add fresh grated coconut. I live in the Caribbean and dislike store bought coconut flakes. Instead I went outside and got 2 coconuts and grated them and cooked it down with 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup sugar for about 15 minutes. I added 1/4 tsp groung nutmeg and 1/8 tsp ground cloves. This cake was moist and very delicious. I took it to work and even collegues that do not like carrot cake gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made dozens of this recipe. Only change is to increase cinnamon by 1 tsp and make ahead and freeze layers. Wow, what a difference. An amazing recipe. Thanks Mr. Sam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States