Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
These were HEAVENLY! My husband and I would give them 10 stars if we could. I lined a grill basket with tinfoil and put the chicken and some marinade into it and grilled the pieces that way. I used dried rosemary and cut the sugar in half. I also used low fat ranch dressing and completely omitted the salt because it just isn't necessary. These were melt in your mouth MOIST and DELICIOUS!! Even my 19-month-old and 3-year-old gobbled this up. The marinade from the grill basket was also incredible poured over white rice. EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!!! EDIT: I've since made this recipe on the stove top and in the oven in order to use up all the marinade (which is INCREDIBLE on rice) and both alternate methods are good by the oven is a better 2nd choice as the stove top method tended to dry the chicken out a bit but still tasted great! I bake it with all the marinade on 450 for 20 minutes. Melt in your mouth moist! EDIT AGAIN: I tried another reviewers recommendation to use Trader Joe's ranch dressing...just not that good with it. It might be slightly healthier for you but I'm willing to splurge for the little dressing that's used and use hidden valley ranch light. Made a HUGE difference to my family and to guests who've had it both ways. Cut back on oil...but use flavorful ranch dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1001 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Very tender chicken! I would use this marinade for chicken breasts as well. We reserved a little of the marinade and added more ranch dressing for a nice dipping sauce on the side. UPDATE: I've made these so many times now because they're just that good. You can cut down on the oil and substitute dried rosemary for the fresh if you don't have any on hand. I always use the sugar and 1 tsp. of salt vs. two. If you're looking to cut down on calories Hidden Valley Ranch Light Buttermilk Dressing works great with this recipe. I usually marinate this at least 6 hours. No matter what you do - it's bound to come out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
550 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This was fabulous! Based on other reviews, I cut back the olive oil to 1/4 cup and omitted the salt and am glad I did. Threw fresh rosemary twigs (soaked in water for 1/2 hour) in the smoker while barbequing these and the aroma, oh my, the aroma! If I was Italian I would be kissing my fingers. Momma Mia!!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
WOW! These were fantastic! Even my 19-month-old gobbled these up! The only ingredient I left out was the salt. I made one batch of marinade for the chicken and another batch to marinate vegetables...onions, portabello mushrooms and quartered new potatoes (about 2 lbs). After you quarter the potatoes put them in a microwave safe dish and add 1/2 cup water. Microwave on high for 13-15 minutes, just stir halfway through cooking time. Otherwise the potatoes would never be done on the grill at the same time as everything else on the skewer! After microwaving let them cool a little and then marinade. I marinaded everything in a couple of ziploc bags for about 2 hours. We will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
My family enjoyed this meal immensely. I marinated thie veggies that I used also (Vidalia onion, red and green bell pepper, and yellow squash) and it came out absolutely luscious. I made this with both the dried rosemary and again with the fresh rosemary, and I think that the fresh rosemary really adds a lot to the flavor. This will be a favorite recipe in the summer grilling months at our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elka Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
4 1/2 stars in our house! I baked chicken pieces in the marinade at 350 for about 20 minutes. I thought it was delicious, my husband thought it was good. I might decrease the lemon juice and vinegar next time because it was a little tangy for our taste, but the chicken was tender, and the sauce was delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
These kabobs are flavorful, juicy & fabulous! Followed the recipe almost exactly and used fresh rosemary, except I took a hint from other reviewers and cut back on the salt a little bit. I also marinated red & green peppers, sweet onions and mushrooms with the chicken, reserving a little of the marinade to use for basting. It took a little time to thread everything on the skewers and a bit messy, but it was so worth it! Next time I'm going to try putting things on the skewers first, then marinate. These would be wonderful to make ahead for a party or any kind of get-together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
The vinegar and lemon juice really tenderizes the meat, and the flavors go very well together. Trader Joes has the best ranch dressing I have found so far (no affiliation). It's organic, all natural ingredients, uses real buttermilk, has no high fructose corn syrup, has less fat than regular ranch, super creamy, and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipe intrigued me because it was different from any chicken dish I have tried. I printed the recipe and planned on preparing - but the weekend got very busy (hence - no cooking!) Sunday I was going to be gone until past dinner - I ask my husband if he would mind preparing the dish. I left the recipe and all ingredients sitting on the counter. The results were amazing! Kids loved it- the chicken was tender and flavorful, and husband was proud declaring this would now be his signature dish that he would make anytime (yipee!) The only thing I know he did different was to use white wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. I'm not sure why and I don't believe it really mattered. Can't wait to invite friends over and have hubby wow 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Theresa, dang these are great! My in-laws said I made the best "non-big" holiday dinner ever when I served these with Zucchini Cornbread Casserole and Barbequed Marinated Flank Steak from this site. I used ranch dill dressing and rice wine vinegar. Omitted sugar and salt. Marinated overnight. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States