Rosemary Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Possibly the best potatoes I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Excellent recipe!!!!! Will be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Campbell Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This dish was amazing. Literally, my family & I were jokingly calling them "crack potatoes"!! I followed the recipe exactly until just before baking. I used a large glass pan & when I put the potato mixture in the dish I topped them with parmesan cheese (quite a bit), crumbled goat cheese (4 oz), cooked crumbled bacon pieces & more fresh rosemary. I cooked them at 350 for 50 minutes & they came out wonderful! Not a bite left after Easter dinner yesterday! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very good. Made as directed but used dried rosemary as that is what I had on hand. Next time I will use fresh rosemary. I used a mandolin to slice the potatoes very thin. I served this with prime rib for Christmas dinner. My husband couldn't stop raving about the potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was a great recipe. I used less flour for the rue and added more rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkstein123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Heaven in a casserole pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I cut some corners and that might be why we didn't like it. We used 1% milk instead of half & half, garlic powder instead of a clove of garlic and dry rosemary instead of fresh. So if you are going to try it, make sure not to cut the same corners I did. I don't think I would say it was gross the way we did it, just very bland! We won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Not my favorite. I didn't like the flavor and the consistency of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. I have fixed Au Gratin potatoes for years and this one is by far the best. I will caution however do NOT exceed the recipes amount of rosemary and if you are using dry use only 1 teas. many cooks thinks think that more is better with herbs but rosemary can be volitile, one reviewer said her dish tasted like "pinesol" that's because of too much rosemary. I have taken many cooking classes in Italy and one of the helpful hints is always to go easy on the rosemary. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
As I am writting this, I have the leftovers of this dish in the oven with another potato added to it. This dish is a FANTASTIC creation. I have never made au-gratin potatoes but from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook that I have had since I got married 38 years ago. Now, This is my go to recipe for potatoes when I have guests or I just want GOOD potatoes. My hat is off to Jean Minner!! WAY TO GO LADY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States