Rosemary Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Possibly the best potatoes I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Excellent recipe!!!!! Will be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Campbell Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This dish was amazing. Literally, my family & I were jokingly calling them "crack potatoes"!! I followed the recipe exactly until just before baking. I used a large glass pan & when I put the potato mixture in the dish I topped them with parmesan cheese (quite a bit), crumbled goat cheese (4 oz), cooked crumbled bacon pieces & more fresh rosemary. I cooked them at 350 for 50 minutes & they came out wonderful! Not a bite left after Easter dinner yesterday! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very good. Made as directed but used dried rosemary as that is what I had on hand. Next time I will use fresh rosemary. I used a mandolin to slice the potatoes very thin. I served this with prime rib for Christmas dinner. My husband couldn't stop raving about the potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was a great recipe. I used less flour for the rue and added more rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkstein123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Heaven in a casserole pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I cut some corners and that might be why we didn't like it. We used 1% milk instead of half & half, garlic powder instead of a clove of garlic and dry rosemary instead of fresh. So if you are going to try it, make sure not to cut the same corners I did. I don't think I would say it was gross the way we did it, just very bland! We won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Not my favorite. I didn't like the flavor and the consistency of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. I have fixed Au Gratin potatoes for years and this one is by far the best. I will caution however do NOT exceed the recipes amount of rosemary and if you are using dry use only 1 teas. many cooks thinks think that more is better with herbs but rosemary can be volitile, one reviewer said her dish tasted like "pinesol" that's because of too much rosemary. I have taken many cooking classes in Italy and one of the helpful hints is always to go easy on the rosemary. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
As I am writting this, I have the leftovers of this dish in the oven with another potato added to it. This dish is a FANTASTIC creation. I have never made au-gratin potatoes but from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook that I have had since I got married 38 years ago. Now, This is my go to recipe for potatoes when I have guests or I just want GOOD potatoes. My hat is off to Jean Minner!! WAY TO GO LADY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States