Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I live in Holland and they do not sell vegetable oil like they do at home in America, so I had to use corn oil and it turned out perfectly. I used Braeburn apples since our choice of apples are not the same as they are in the states. I think using Braeburn apples was far better than the typical American apples I've grown up eating. This cake is even better the next day when kept in an air-tight container; it actually makes the cake more moist. I used the walnuts like it called for, but I made this again a week later and did not use them. I'm not a fan of nuts in recipes, but I think this recipe is perfect with the nuts but even better without them!! Simple ingredients, easy to make and absolutely delicious. I couldn't ask for any better! ***After consulting my neighbor who happens to have moved to Holland from Romania, she told me that this in it's traditional Romanian form does NOT involve walnuts at all. Just thought I'd pass that bit of information along.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is just like what my grandmother (Romanian, of course, she immigrated to Canada with my grandfather) used to make, she called it Appelkuchen (not sure of spelling). She diced the apples finely probably because her teeth were not so good anymore. This tastes best about a day or so after cooking and, for a cake, keeps quite well. Any substitutions detract from the authenticity and longevity of the cake; applesauce spoils much faster than oil, I always say that the bacteria, mold etc. have healthy tastes, they don't eat junk foods as they have no nutrients! So it is not healthy, but a delicious hearty spice cake that anyone not overly concerned about their diet will enjoy a slice of. It tastes a bit like apple pie or apple sauce but as a cake. And it does have a lot of apples, so you get a good dose of fruit. Alright enough rambling but I am happy to have found this recipe and be able to make my grandmother's cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
My son and I made this as part of a school report on Romania. It was a huge hit at school and he came home with an empty pan and tons of requests for the recipe. Now months later his class has requested that he bring it for their Valentine's Day Party. (I don't normally think of apple cake for Valentine's Day but it's what they want.) It is very easy to make and tastes good. Obvisously, it is a hit with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lanesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This was very easy to prepare. The cake looked very lumpy and I thought that there were too many apples, but it made the cake very moist and tasty. Was great warm but even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very nice cake first time I tried it and it is very moist I did use a can of apples thats cheating but it was very yummy Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
AWESOME! This was so delicious in a real comfort-food, homey kind of way. I made this for my husband to take to the Thanksgiving lunch he had at work. I used five kinds of apples (Macintosh, Granny Smith, Gala, Pink Lady, and Jonagold). I baked it in a bundt pan and then when it cooled (to make it pretty for sharing) I drizzeled it with glaze that I made with powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and a dash of salt. I will say that I, like others, thought I'd done something wrong when I was through mixing the batter. It's all apples! But as it bakes, the cake puffs up and around the apples and it's just yummy. I love the big apple chunks. It's like apple pie meets spice cake. So good! I'll be making this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is a great cake. Right away I decided I wanted to add 1 T. of cinnamon instead of what it called for. We are a cinnamon family, especially when it comes to cinnamoned apples. I added 1/4 t. salt to bring to enchance flavors since I believe that all recipes need a little salt. Yes, it seems that 5 apples is a lot, but it's not. The apple takes the cake in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Excellent recipe...I did however make some modifications: Used pears not apples, 1 cup sugar not 1 and 1/2 cups, no baking soda used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a great cake! My boyfriend is romanian and he claimed that he ate similar cakes in his childhood! Very easy to make and turns out great every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceAlicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludwigshafen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a nice apple cake, made to the recipe. My apples carry a lot of moisture, so needs a little more flour for me, otherwise it's too moist. I would have liked to see some more cinnamon in it. Good warmed up. Did powdered sugar glaze for the top, but it doesn't really need anything. Thanks for the recipe. 10/26/09~I have made this 3 times since this review, just a hint, I used about 4 cups of sliced apples as most apple cake/crisp recipes use this amount. Since varying apples are different sizes (mine are huge, I only use two for 4 cups) it helps to know how much instead of how many. 9/12/2010~made apple muffins from this. Used 4 Cups of apples, subbed 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil(which I always do), made in dark muffin pans, lowered temp to 325 cooked 22 to 24 minutes, got 18 muffins. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States