Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Yum. Very easy and very tasty. I did half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour and it came out great. Not too sweet, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The only apple cake recipe I'll need for the rest of my life. We just had apple season and I already made this cake five or six times. I make it as a bundt so take 5-10 minutes of the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was really good the 2nd day. 1st day it tasted way too sweet with cream cheese frosting (while recipe doesn't state frosting, the picture kind of infers it). In any case, it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherriRBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Sorry to be the spoiler here, but I just can't give this cake a five star. The flavor was great, but the cake was dry. I am trying to figure out why and the only thing I can think of is the poster of this recipe perhaps used larger apples. I had small apples and did use 6. Maybe I needed still more for extra moisture. I know my oven is calibrated correctly. I suggest you check this cake well before the 55 minutes. I think it was probably done well before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This baked up beautifully was soo simple to prepare I followed the recipe exactly except for one thing after I cut the apples I did add some lemon juice to them to keep them from discoloring while I mixed up the batter oh and I made a simple glaze for the cake with just conf sugar, vanilla, and some milk my romanian husband loved it really all of us did.. Made it last night and this morning only three pieces left will definitly make this one again thanks so much for an easy yummy treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Quick,easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Doubled the cinnamon and left out the walnuts (migraines!) and this was very good. Definitely better the second day, when the moisture from the apples draws into the cake. There are many similar recipes to this all AllRecipes, but with the big chunks of apples in this one, it might be the easiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I was surprised how well this turned out! Definitely tastes better the next day -- just cover after it cools from the oven. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar and upped the spices (cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg) and cut the apples into 1/2 inch wedges as 1 inch seems huge. I also tried adding a middle streusal layer (of blended pecans, brown sugar and butter like a coffee cake topping) instead of the walnuts, and this was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Superb quality and simplicity. Followed the recipe to the letter. Gets better every day. Moist and an old world spice sweet. The perfect texture - I've never had a cake set so consistently as this one. Thank-you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
OMG this has to be the best apple recipe ever. I made this thanks to sassyoldlady's picture, so a big thank you to here! I think it was absolutely perfect exactly as written. It definitely doesn't need an icing. It is moist and just the perfect amount of sweet. I would highly recommend that everyone tries this at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States