Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent snack cake, especially when drizzled with vanilla icing (powder sugar with a little butter, milk and vanilla). And, like the last reviewer said, even better the next day if stored in airtight container which makes it moister. I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrekkieLianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
The easiest and best apple cake I have ever made, and everyone loves it! Staple at my house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a delicious, easy to make pudding. All my family enjoyed this so much, i am now baking another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Delicious. Omitted walnuts (didn't have any), replaced 1/2 C flour with wheat germ. Drizzled with icing (1 C powdered sugar, 2 tsp o.j.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good flavor and we enjoyed the first day. But it was very moist, and by the second day it was downright too wet to eat, even though I only covered loosely with plastic wrap. I don't think i will make again, unless we use it up the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Sorry, didn't care for this. It had no flavor and was way too moist. We love dessert around here but this cake sat around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Made this for the first time tonight. Simple and so delicious. Served it up warm to my husband, son and my son's friend. A BIG HIT! Definitely and old fashion, traditional recipe. LOVE IT! In reading the other reviews I can't wait to taste it again after a day or two if my son and his friend don't eat it all. Thanks for sharing. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is by far our favorite apple cake, always turns out the same very easy to make and my fiance can eat the whole thing in a single afternoon. I am makng it for a Thanksgiving potluck at work and i know everyone will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Svoss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made 1 1/2 times the recipe (brought it in as the cake for my son's birthday celebration at daycare). I omitted the walnuts and added an additional apple in its place. For the cinnamon I simply ground up two thin sticks and used that. Increasing the recipe leads to semi-measurements (example, "- cup & - tsps." so I simply used even amounts rounding up or down. It was a hit, everyone wanted seconds! On another note, this is very similar to a cake I enjoyed as a child (baked by my Hungarian grandmother). Lightly topped with vanilla glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Loved this! I will add 1/4th alt next time; also, increase cinnamon to two tsps. I also added a penuche glaze made with real butter, brown sugar, milk and some confectioners sugar( see recipe elsewhere.) This is a real keeper-recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States