Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JMANNING
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Wonderful cake recipe. I used a apple slicer and then I diced them into half inch pieces. Total apples were five cups. Added double the cinnamon than suggested which maybe wasn't necessary. Also ran out of vanilla so I got two teaspoons instead of three into the mix which was fine. No nuts. Made a drizzle with a half cup of powdered sugar and a tablespoon of milk. Everyone gobbled it right up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a family pleaser! I don't use the nuts. Easy, Fast, Fresh, Good, and Not to Sweet! I use a 9x9 pan, and when it's done I turn it out onto a large plate when still warm, and with a large salad fork poke a bunch of "drain" holes in it, then I make a butter & powered sugar icing and drizzle it all over. It seeps into the holes, and YUMMY!! We like to just use our fingers and use it as a finger bread/snack/desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is very good! I made this exactly as stated and it was very tasty. I used 5 Gala apples and it was more than enough apples for the amount of batter. It baked up nicely and has a slightly crispy exterior that I thought was yummy. Very simple, yet flavorful cake. My husband loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Delicious! We are eating warm right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
The cake was hard and heavy. I followed the recipe exactly. My batter was the consistency of cookie batter. What did I do wrong? I may try again and bake about 30 minutes. I might also try with apple sauce, instead of apple pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Made exactly as directed. Easy and absolutely delicious. I used 5 large granny smith apples and chopped them fairly small. The apple pieces took up so much of the batter I was afraid the cake would not turn out but it did and was delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
this is my go-to cake recipe for an easy dessert w/ no fuss. no frosting needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gagne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was a huge hit! Everyone loved this cake! Great texture and just the right amount of sweetness. Also, love how simple this cake is to make. Will be making over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
My family liked this recipe. We agreed it was a little bland. But since we had some ice-cream caramel topping, we drizzled that over each piece. Oh.My.Gosh. It was awesome! You've gotta try it with the caramel topping! So, I'll be making it again. Next time, I'll add 1/8 - 1/4 tsp salt, and maybe decrease the baking soda a little since every bite had a distinct baking soda flavor. And maybe I'll try a struesel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
It was delicious! Only changed two things: I used hazelnut instead of walnuts and used only 1 cup of sugar. It is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States