Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a nice apple cake, made to the recipe. My apples carry a lot of moisture, so needs a little more flour for me, otherwise it's too moist. I would have liked to see some more cinnamon in it. Good warmed up. Did powdered sugar glaze for the top, but it doesn't really need anything. Thanks for the recipe. 10/26/09~I have made this 3 times since this review, just a hint, I used about 4 cups of sliced apples as most apple cake/crisp recipes use this amount. Since varying apples are different sizes (mine are huge, I only use two for 4 cups) it helps to know how much instead of how many. 9/12/2010~made apple muffins from this. Used 4 Cups of apples, subbed 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil(which I always do), made in dark muffin pans, lowered temp to 325 cooked 22 to 24 minutes, got 18 muffins. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I didn't think this cake was all that great. I even laughed when I read one of the reviews said it was too sweet. This is a dessert that I would recommend to someone who doesn't like sweet desserts. I just felt like something was missing. It was very bland. I put butter on my piece while it was warm just to give it some flavor. One of my kids wanted to know why I made bread with apples in it. I guess you could add cream cheese frosting. The recipe is simple but so is the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is one great recipe. The first cake I baked I used a mix of apples. I found 6 cups of large chunks is about right and I do mean large. Mine were about half the size of a base ball diamond. The second cake was made with twenty ounce pepin. I only need two of the pepin to make six cups. They are huge. I will try Braeburn next which we do grow in Michigan as well as other parts of the U.S. I used 2 tsp of cinnamon and one and a little less than 1/3 of sugar. I think the sugar depends on how sour the apples are. I would only use the 1 1/2 cups of sugar if the apples were sour. I take dinner out to my sister and brother-in-laws helpers at their orchard. This week it is going to be beef stew, biscuits and apple cake of course. This is truly a must try cake and the recipe goes together quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
the cake was wonderful!, I changed it a little. I used baking powder instead of baking soda, also granny smith apples and I put the apples on top of the batter in the pan and sprinkled it with a little cinnamon and sugar. Also I added some nutmeg. And since I am allergic to walnuts I used pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyhughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
After reading the reviews, I made the following alterations: I left the peel on the apples, substituted one half cup of oil with one half cup of applesauce, so I only used one quarter cup of oil in the whole recipe; substituted one quarter cup of white sugar with brown sugar, and used one tablespoon of cinnamon. This cake is great with breakfast or as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
My wife loved this cake, even the next morning when it was cold. Personally I thought it was a little bready and bland, but it was good when it was hot and with some ice cream. I will add more cinimon next time, and maybe some cloves or something to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I just loved this cake. I frosted it with a caramel/peanut butter icing. Got rave reviews from all that ate it. (I must admit I used 6 Macintosh apples though, not 5.) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Great, easy recipe that reminded me of my grandmother's apple cake. I used McCormick's Saigon Cinnamon & Madagascar Vanilla for extra umph and substituted the nuts & apples for a large can of sliced, drained peaches. Also used butter instead of oil. In a 9x12 pan it only took 30 minutes to cook. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is delicious, and probably the best apple cake I've ever eaten! It's loaded with apple flavor, the cinnamon doesn't overwhelm it, and the walnuts provide just the right amount of crunch. A real winner here!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
The cake is yummy! I am originally from Romania and I spent 1/2 of my life there. This is not the cake my grandmother used to make. This cake resembles the "american" cakes I very much enjoy from this website. The Romanian traditional apple cake has 3 layers, the middle one being the apples' layer, surrounded by a special kind of dough. It's very different in taste and looks...but this cake is also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States