Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Wow! I really loved this recipe. I followed it exactly, using Golden delicious apples and like others mentioned, I was afraid that 5 would be too many but it turned out great! I highly recommend giving this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made this for my office birthday treat. Everyone liked it. This very simple cake can serve as a breakfast coffee cake treat or a dessert. It has a nice apple and spice flavor that everyone can enjoy. I used Granny Smith apples. I noticed that the dough was very stiff when I folded it into the baking pan. I worried that I had left out some liquid ingredient because it seemed so stickey. Don't worry, it poofs up nicely in the oven into a more cake-y texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is the second time I've made this now. I reduced the sugar to 2/3rds and substituted 1/2 the oil for apple sauce, which was sweetened, that's why I reduced the sugar content. Very easy recipe to follow, delicious and very moist. Dusted with icing sugar whilst still warm, we were going to have it with custard but couldn't wait ha..ha.. Mine seems darker than everyone else's. I did use 2 tablespoons of cinnamon though, and think it took a little longer to bake than my 1st one, mustn't have been as thick a dough. Gave a slice to my neighbour, we will eat the rest tomorrow with the custard this time:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crewe, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This cake was wonderful! Very moist and the nice thing is if it doesn't get eaten immediately it doesn't dry out! Also it is great without the nuts, I am allergic to nuts and sometimes by leaving them out the cake is missing something, not this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Really yummy. Also added a handful of raisins. Baked for 75 minutes in a greased/floured bundt pan. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
wonderful ! wonderful ! This is such a delicious cake, moist & tasty. I made this yesterday for company & WOW !! fantastic, and I made it exactly as written, using 4 very large granny smith apples. It seemed a peculiar texture after mixing in the appple chunks & walnuts, (seemed to be chopped apples with a sauce). However, it turned out yummy! Thank you for this delightful recipe & I see no reason for anyone to change a single thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe was very easy and very yummy. I have made four apple cakes in the last 2 weeks--all have been devoured by my family quickly. The only thing I did differently was to add more cinnamon and I made a powdered sugar glaze to go over it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeaninne Raaberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is wonderful!!! I have found a new cake for the holidays. Didn't have any walnuts. So moist and good. Got it out of the oven and it is nearly gone. Made a fresh pot of coffee to go with it as I was out of milk. Told my husband that it would be good with ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Made it several times. Always delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States