Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This cake is GREAT! I really love this recipe... I have made this cake 4 times in the last 4 weeks and everyone loves it! :) I added a little bit or raisins and pineapples and it tastes even better! :) The cake is moist and delicious, you should definitely try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
My bf love this cake. It's very moist, and taste great too. I plan to make it again with pear and peach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This recipe reminds me of one my Romanian Grandma used to make. This cake is dee-Lish and very easy to perpare! Try it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Excellent recipe...I did however make some modifications: Used pears not apples, 1 cup sugar not 1 and 1/2 cups, no baking soda used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Thanks for submitting this recipe. My family loved it! The only change I would make the next time is I would cut the apples smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
My son and I made this as part of a school report on Romania. It was a huge hit at school and he came home with an empty pan and tons of requests for the recipe. Now months later his class has requested that he bring it for their Valentine's Day Party. (I don't normally think of apple cake for Valentine's Day but it's what they want.) It is very easy to make and tastes good. Obvisously, it is a hit with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lanesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qsti
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
It was really good, too sweet for me but next time I'll just reduce the sugar. The cinnamon taste was perfectly in balance with the apples. One of the best apple cakes I've made/eaten this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is a delicious cake. We have many friends in Europe and have stayed in their homes and eaten their homemade food. Unlike American cakes, this has all of the earmarks of a cake from Europe- simple, real ingredients and not overly sweet. Like a previous reviewer, my daughter and I made this for a 5th grade International Day luncheon. All of the kids liked it! We made this cake with Pippin apples, which is my favorite pie apple. When I make this recipe next time, I will add a 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of salt, though it is just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is just like what my grandmother (Romanian, of course, she immigrated to Canada with my grandfather) used to make, she called it Appelkuchen (not sure of spelling). She diced the apples finely probably because her teeth were not so good anymore. This tastes best about a day or so after cooking and, for a cake, keeps quite well. Any substitutions detract from the authenticity and longevity of the cake; applesauce spoils much faster than oil, I always say that the bacteria, mold etc. have healthy tastes, they don't eat junk foods as they have no nutrients! So it is not healthy, but a delicious hearty spice cake that anyone not overly concerned about their diet will enjoy a slice of. It tastes a bit like apple pie or apple sauce but as a cake. And it does have a lot of apples, so you get a good dose of fruit. Alright enough rambling but I am happy to have found this recipe and be able to make my grandmother's cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was just the kind of recipe I was looking for;simple and wonderful.I dont think Delicious apples are the best choice though,Macintosh and/or Granny Smith would be better.I used 3 kinds of apples and did not add walnuts as I had none on hand.Also this would probably work well with whole wheat flour.This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States