Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Excellent recipe...I did however make some modifications: Used pears not apples, 1 cup sugar not 1 and 1/2 cups, no baking soda used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This was very easy to prepare. The cake looked very lumpy and I thought that there were too many apples, but it made the cake very moist and tasty. Was great warm but even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This cake is GREAT! I really love this recipe... I have made this cake 4 times in the last 4 weeks and everyone loves it! :) I added a little bit or raisins and pineapples and it tastes even better! :) The cake is moist and delicious, you should definitely try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
My bf love this cake. It's very moist, and taste great too. I plan to make it again with pear and peach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This recipe reminds me of one my Romanian Grandma used to make. This cake is dee-Lish and very easy to perpare! Try it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was just the kind of recipe I was looking for;simple and wonderful.I dont think Delicious apples are the best choice though,Macintosh and/or Granny Smith would be better.I used 3 kinds of apples and did not add walnuts as I had none on hand.Also this would probably work well with whole wheat flour.This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I was recently given a bunch of apples and have been searching for recipes to use these apples up. I had never had romanian apple cake before so I'm not sure if this is what it's supposed to tast like, but I didn't care much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
My son and I made this as part of a school report on Romania. It was a huge hit at school and he came home with an empty pan and tons of requests for the recipe. Now months later his class has requested that he bring it for their Valentine's Day Party. (I don't normally think of apple cake for Valentine's Day but it's what they want.) It is very easy to make and tastes good. Obvisously, it is a hit with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lanesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
It tasted good the first day - but way too many apples. The cake fell apart and was terrible the next day - had to throw it all out as it became a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This cake is SUPER. Did not change any of the ingredients. Did make a mistake by not reading ahead in the recipe and put all the dry ingredients together and then adding them to the dry. Folded the apples and walnuts in at the end. All come out wonderful. I used to make this cake 40 years ago when we went camping. Lost the recipe. So glad to have it back. Just a pleasure to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States