Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
AWESOME! This was so delicious in a real comfort-food, homey kind of way. I made this for my husband to take to the Thanksgiving lunch he had at work. I used five kinds of apples (Macintosh, Granny Smith, Gala, Pink Lady, and Jonagold). I baked it in a bundt pan and then when it cooled (to make it pretty for sharing) I drizzeled it with glaze that I made with powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and a dash of salt. I will say that I, like others, thought I'd done something wrong when I was through mixing the batter. It's all apples! But as it bakes, the cake puffs up and around the apples and it's just yummy. I love the big apple chunks. It's like apple pie meets spice cake. So good! I'll be making this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This cake is awesome! Sassyoldlady's picture of this cake made me want to try it. I had only 4 Granny Smith apples and not quite enough sugar. So I used about a half a cup of home made syrup (the Absolute Best Pancake syrup from this site) in addition to a cup of sugar. Baked this in a bundt pan. I baked it for 45 minutes and topped it with the syrup mentioned above. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
MMMMmmmmmm delicious! if you think you messed up and put too many allpes, you didn't the cake cooks up wonderfully around all the appled and it is sooo good and moist! worth all the fat and calories in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Yum. Very easy and very tasty. I did half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour and it came out great. Not too sweet, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The only apple cake recipe I'll need for the rest of my life. We just had apple season and I already made this cake five or six times. I make it as a bundt so take 5-10 minutes of the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was really good the 2nd day. 1st day it tasted way too sweet with cream cheese frosting (while recipe doesn't state frosting, the picture kind of infers it). In any case, it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherriRBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Sorry to be the spoiler here, but I just can't give this cake a five star. The flavor was great, but the cake was dry. I am trying to figure out why and the only thing I can think of is the poster of this recipe perhaps used larger apples. I had small apples and did use 6. Maybe I needed still more for extra moisture. I know my oven is calibrated correctly. I suggest you check this cake well before the 55 minutes. I think it was probably done well before then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This baked up beautifully was soo simple to prepare I followed the recipe exactly except for one thing after I cut the apples I did add some lemon juice to them to keep them from discoloring while I mixed up the batter oh and I made a simple glaze for the cake with just conf sugar, vanilla, and some milk my romanian husband loved it really all of us did.. Made it last night and this morning only three pieces left will definitly make this one again thanks so much for an easy yummy treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Quick,easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Doubled the cinnamon and left out the walnuts (migraines!) and this was very good. Definitely better the second day, when the moisture from the apples draws into the cake. There are many similar recipes to this all AllRecipes, but with the big chunks of apples in this one, it might be the easiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States