Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Wasn't crazy about this, it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
The cake was good, but not outstanding. It was very different, very easy. Will I make it again? Perhaps, but with many alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Fantastic as is! Over the past few weeks I've made this super simple cake a number of times and everyone loves it. My husband brought some to work and they loved it so much I made one just for him to bring in. My toddlers playgroup loved it and so do my neighbors. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I just tried this recipe today , and it turned out marvelously. It's so easy and yummy. Try it :) Thanks for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosina7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My fiance and I really liked this cake. It's nice and moist, and really easy to prepare! I used Golden Delicious apples and left out the walnuts for personal preference. I think next time I might add a little nutmeg for a tad more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was pretty good, but nothing memorable. I cut the sugar to 1 c. ( no more is needed) and replaced half the oil with applesauce. I don't think I'll make this again - there are too many great recipes out there to make something mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I wanted to try this recipe, but since there are only two of us, I halved it. I baked it in a large Pyrex pie plate. I don’t like to rate something that I changed, but the changes are small ones that shouldn’t affect it. I ran out of vegetable oil, so I subbed ‘pure’ olive oil, not the extra virgin. I use 2 smaller eggs instead of 1 1/2 (I mean we’re only talking about 2T egg, after all) and when it came to the walnuts, I forgot to halve the amount (oops!), luckily we like nuts. I baked it for 45 minutes and the tester came out clean. The cake turned out great, nice and moist. I’ll definitely make this again! I think I’ll write down the half recipe, since it’s such a nice size for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This cake was phenomenal. The dough/batter is very thick, and I didn't have enough to cover the apples, so I had to whip up another half batch. I also had to press it into the pan and over the apples. I may have used a lot more apples than the recipe called for, but it worked out great. Based on the thickness of the dough/batter, I thought the cake would be tough, but it was quite moist from the apples and delicious. It is really good warm with vanilla ice cream. I found this recipe while looking for something similar to a Polish "szarlotka". It is not quite the same, but definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome! Used 3 tsp. baking powder in place of baking soda, and only about 1 1/4 cups sugar. Besides that followed the recipe to a T. Served warm with whipped cream, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I dotted the top with butter and extra cinnamon and brown sugar. I like it a lot and thought it was a very simple and rustic desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savanah Orlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States