Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great dessert. Didn't quite come out as in the picture, but still delicious. Definitely great for when apples are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I made this today for my little boy's birthday party. The guests seemed to like it and several of them went back for seconds, but it just didn't do it for me. Too many apples made for a sort of mushy texture. I think it would have benefited from more cinnamon, but I won't be making this again. Frankly, I doubt that I'll eat the leftovers. I infinitely prefer my mom's apple cake (with cream cheese icing, yum) and am going to make sure I track down her recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was a hit at the B&B this fall! I chopped the apples rather than using them in thick slices (I also only had 3 large apples, so that's what I used). I also substituted unsweetened apple sauce for the oil, but all else was per the recipe. I really enjoyed this as a coffee cake and my guests did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Very tasty. I used 3/4 cup of whole grain wheat flour and it came out great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Easy and so delicious! Another big plus is that it doesn't require a lot of ingredients. My kids helped me make it and they had so much fun. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
AWESOME! This was so delicious in a real comfort-food, homey kind of way. I made this for my husband to take to the Thanksgiving lunch he had at work. I used five kinds of apples (Macintosh, Granny Smith, Gala, Pink Lady, and Jonagold). I baked it in a bundt pan and then when it cooled (to make it pretty for sharing) I drizzeled it with glaze that I made with powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and a dash of salt. I will say that I, like others, thought I'd done something wrong when I was through mixing the batter. It's all apples! But as it bakes, the cake puffs up and around the apples and it's just yummy. I love the big apple chunks. It's like apple pie meets spice cake. So good! I'll be making this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This cake is awesome! Sassyoldlady's picture of this cake made me want to try it. I had only 4 Granny Smith apples and not quite enough sugar. So I used about a half a cup of home made syrup (the Absolute Best Pancake syrup from this site) in addition to a cup of sugar. Baked this in a bundt pan. I baked it for 45 minutes and topped it with the syrup mentioned above. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
MMMMmmmmmm delicious! if you think you messed up and put too many allpes, you didn't the cake cooks up wonderfully around all the appled and it is sooo good and moist! worth all the fat and calories in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Yum. Very easy and very tasty. I did half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour and it came out great. Not too sweet, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The only apple cake recipe I'll need for the rest of my life. We just had apple season and I already made this cake five or six times. I make it as a bundt so take 5-10 minutes of the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States