Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was excellent! I did make changes, but I think it just shows how adaptable this recipe is. I used brown sugar instead of white and decreased it to 1 cup. I did not have any vanilla, or nuts. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and also substituted applesauce for oil (equal amounts). I am sure this is excellent as written, but I had to adapt because I didnt have certain items. It was sooo good. Cant wait to have it for breakfast with coffee :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Not having made apple cake before, I stuck to the recipe exactly on this one and it came out perfect. I like the cinnamon and it's full of apples, which was what I was looking for. It was moist and really good with coffee in the morning. I used Macs because they are the most popular apple in my area and my favorite apple. Definitely will be making in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Best served warm out of the oven. Made a glaze from powdered sugar and milk..poured over while still warm..very good. Used exact recipe..and empire apples..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is, by far, the BEST apple cake recip I have tried. It's simplicity is an added bonus. I will be using it when my granddaughter visitis, as I think she will be able to easily follow the directions. I added a light drizzle of glaze last time I made it, this time I threw in a handful of dried cranberries. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
What I loved about this cake was simply that I only had to use one bowl for all of my mixing. Saves time and dirty dishes! Oh--and the cake turned out GREAT! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was so good it never made it to the second day so I made 3 more to see if it did get better and more moist over night. It was out of this world with a glaze and without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cooperstown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very tasty. It reminds me of the one my grandma used to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is a very easy cake to make and not overly sweet. For added sweetness, top it with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This cake turned out great and was so easy to make. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Absolutly delicious! And so easy! I also like that you can substitute applesauce for some of the oil. But great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States