Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Sorry, didn't care for this. It had no flavor and was way too moist. We love dessert around here but this cake sat around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Made this for the first time tonight. Simple and so delicious. Served it up warm to my husband, son and my son's friend. A BIG HIT! Definitely and old fashion, traditional recipe. LOVE IT! In reading the other reviews I can't wait to taste it again after a day or two if my son and his friend don't eat it all. Thanks for sharing. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is by far our favorite apple cake, always turns out the same very easy to make and my fiance can eat the whole thing in a single afternoon. I am makng it for a Thanksgiving potluck at work and i know everyone will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made 1 1/2 times the recipe (brought it in as the cake for my son's birthday celebration at daycare). I omitted the walnuts and added an additional apple in its place. For the cinnamon I simply ground up two thin sticks and used that. Increasing the recipe leads to semi-measurements (example, "- cup & - tsps." so I simply used even amounts rounding up or down. It was a hit, everyone wanted seconds! On another note, this is very similar to a cake I enjoyed as a child (baked by my Hungarian grandmother). Lightly topped with vanilla glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Loved this! I will add 1/4th alt next time; also, increase cinnamon to two tsps. I also added a penuche glaze made with real butter, brown sugar, milk and some confectioners sugar( see recipe elsewhere.) This is a real keeper-recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This recipe was pretty delicious - perfectly suited for a nice breakfast! The hardest part was peeling the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was excellent! I did make changes, but I think it just shows how adaptable this recipe is. I used brown sugar instead of white and decreased it to 1 cup. I did not have any vanilla, or nuts. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and also substituted applesauce for oil (equal amounts). I am sure this is excellent as written, but I had to adapt because I didnt have certain items. It was sooo good. Cant wait to have it for breakfast with coffee :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Not having made apple cake before, I stuck to the recipe exactly on this one and it came out perfect. I like the cinnamon and it's full of apples, which was what I was looking for. It was moist and really good with coffee in the morning. I used Macs because they are the most popular apple in my area and my favorite apple. Definitely will be making in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Best served warm out of the oven. Made a glaze from powdered sugar and milk..poured over while still warm..very good. Used exact recipe..and empire apples..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is, by far, the BEST apple cake recip I have tried. It's simplicity is an added bonus. I will be using it when my granddaughter visitis, as I think she will be able to easily follow the directions. I added a light drizzle of glaze last time I made it, this time I threw in a handful of dried cranberries. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States