Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is a recipe that I keep coming back to over and over because it's always a pleaser. Plus, it's so easy compared to other cake recipes without losing that made-from-scratch feel! It tastes great whenever, but I like it best a good 6 hours after taking it out of the oven. You can put whatever you want on the top, but everyone seems to especially love it when I drizzle a maple-caramel sauce over the top. (I don't bother with walnuts, but it cooks great without them, anyway.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Easy and yummy! I sliced the apples a little thinner and added a bit more cinnamon. I bet a crumb toppng would be nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Have just made this and it is fantastic. I put in sunflower oil as it was all I had and could not find walnuts so used raisins. My walnut tree is full but nuts are not ready yet but will make this again with the right ingredients. Not a good cook at the best of times but have just retired from nursing and now I have the time to try new stuff. Made apple jam also and am waiting for it to cool and hope it is ok as my last batch was like concrete. Regards from Hungary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I halved this recipe and used only one egg (since half the recipe would be 1&1/2 eggs). I also used a "generous" 1 tsp of cinnamon. I diced two small gala apples and omitted the walnuts since I was making it for my two babies under the age of 3. I baked it in an 8x8 glass pan for 25mins. The texture of this cake was perfect. My kids loved it! It was just right with my morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
YUM YUM YUM. Followed directions exactly; everyone loved it. Even better the next day as some reviewers commented. Thank you for posting a wonderful treat .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Very delicious. No idea what this cake is actually suppose to taste like but this recipe is delicious. Didn't, and wouldn't, change a thing. Just wish this cake wasn't so addictive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterbean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Pretty yummy! I didn't use the walnuts, as others said it wasn't authentic and I also don't like them. I used Fuji apples because that's what I had, and it was fruit-sweet, not too sweet. The family enjoyed it, I just wish it had something to make it pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My son and I really liked this recipe. It's moist, not too sweet and full of apples. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Raceland, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Excellent snack cake, especially when drizzled with vanilla icing (powder sugar with a little butter, milk and vanilla). And, like the last reviewer said, even better the next day if stored in airtight container which makes it moister. I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrekkieLianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States