Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is a delicious cake. We have many friends in Europe and have stayed in their homes and eaten their homemade food. Unlike American cakes, this has all of the earmarks of a cake from Europe- simple, real ingredients and not overly sweet. Like a previous reviewer, my daughter and I made this for a 5th grade International Day luncheon. All of the kids liked it! We made this cake with Pippin apples, which is my favorite pie apple. When I make this recipe next time, I will add a 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of salt, though it is just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qsti
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
It was really good, too sweet for me but next time I'll just reduce the sugar. The cinnamon taste was perfectly in balance with the apples. One of the best apple cakes I've made/eaten this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Thanks for submitting this recipe. My family loved it! The only change I would make the next time is I would cut the apples smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this exactly as suggested, we really didn't like the texture or flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to make for a Romanian friend and I found this one. I tried it and she said that she hadn't tasted this cake since she was home in Romanania. It is just like her mom used to make! My family loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This was a great cake. I am not a nut fan and did not include them either. My son was doing a report on Romainia and I am glad that this is a really from there. They all liked it and I was lucky to get a piece. One of the children liked it so well he wrote it down for his mother. It was so easy to make and used ingrediants that most people would have at hand. Will make again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a great cake! My boyfriend is romanian and he claimed that he ate similar cakes in his childhood! Very easy to make and turns out great every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceAlicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludwigshafen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I live in Holland and they do not sell vegetable oil like they do at home in America, so I had to use corn oil and it turned out perfectly. I used Braeburn apples since our choice of apples are not the same as they are in the states. I think using Braeburn apples was far better than the typical American apples I've grown up eating. This cake is even better the next day when kept in an air-tight container; it actually makes the cake more moist. I used the walnuts like it called for, but I made this again a week later and did not use them. I'm not a fan of nuts in recipes, but I think this recipe is perfect with the nuts but even better without them!! Simple ingredients, easy to make and absolutely delicious. I couldn't ask for any better! ***After consulting my neighbor who happens to have moved to Holland from Romania, she told me that this in it's traditional Romanian form does NOT involve walnuts at all. Just thought I'd pass that bit of information along.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This cake is SUPER. Did not change any of the ingredients. Did make a mistake by not reading ahead in the recipe and put all the dry ingredients together and then adding them to the dry. Folded the apples and walnuts in at the end. All come out wonderful. I used to make this cake 40 years ago when we went camping. Lost the recipe. So glad to have it back. Just a pleasure to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
It tasted good the first day - but way too many apples. The cake fell apart and was terrible the next day - had to throw it all out as it became a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States