Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
What a great recipe! After reading other reviews, and then trying this recipe out myself, I also thought there were way too many apples.. But I was wrong. :) The batter expands, so once it bakes, it doesn't seem like too many at all, and they definitely make the overall cake more moist. Some changes I made : 1) For the apples, I used 3 Golden Delicious and 2 Granny Smith, and I didn't peel any of them. 2) I used 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar. 3) Alongside the cinnamon and vanilla, I also added nutmeg, lemon extract, and cocoa (which added a GREAT light chocolately taste). With all those ingredients, I never measure exactly.. I just kind of use my best judgement. But I would guess that I used about 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tbsp lemon, and 2-3 tbsp cocoa. 4) Finally, I didn't add walnuts (although I definitely would in the future - I was just making this for my bf's house and he doesn't really like nuts in cakes), but instead I added raisins. Once again, didn't measure how much.. but I would guess 3/4 c. My only complaint is that the batter was kind of difficult to mix.. and then once I added the apples it was REALLY difficult to mix. Was a bit discouraging - thought I did something wrong.. But the cake came out great. :) Thanks for the recipe! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Well Aged
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is the ugliest cake - going into the oven - but, when it is done - WOW! I've made this many times and find peeled/cored Granny Smith apples work best. My Romanian friends say, "savuros" (sp?) Try lightly sprinkling it with cinnamon-sugar before baking. Check out the picture I took the first time I made this cake - its only gotten better. Petrecere frumoasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Well Aged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Was looking for something not terribly sweet to fix after all the Christmas goodies. This was perfect. I did make a carmel glaze for the people that wanted a little extra sweetness added to theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Aransas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This is fantastic. Wow. I could have eaten the whole thing myself. I drizzeled a butter and sugar mixture over the warm cake as a glaze. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is just like what my grandmother (Romanian, of course, she immigrated to Canada with my grandfather) used to make, she called it Appelkuchen (not sure of spelling). She diced the apples finely probably because her teeth were not so good anymore. This tastes best about a day or so after cooking and, for a cake, keeps quite well. Any substitutions detract from the authenticity and longevity of the cake; applesauce spoils much faster than oil, I always say that the bacteria, mold etc. have healthy tastes, they don't eat junk foods as they have no nutrients! So it is not healthy, but a delicious hearty spice cake that anyone not overly concerned about their diet will enjoy a slice of. It tastes a bit like apple pie or apple sauce but as a cake. And it does have a lot of apples, so you get a good dose of fruit. Alright enough rambling but I am happy to have found this recipe and be able to make my grandmother's cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is a delicious cake. We have many friends in Europe and have stayed in their homes and eaten their homemade food. Unlike American cakes, this has all of the earmarks of a cake from Europe- simple, real ingredients and not overly sweet. Like a previous reviewer, my daughter and I made this for a 5th grade International Day luncheon. All of the kids liked it! We made this cake with Pippin apples, which is my favorite pie apple. When I make this recipe next time, I will add a 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of salt, though it is just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qsti
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
It was really good, too sweet for me but next time I'll just reduce the sugar. The cinnamon taste was perfectly in balance with the apples. One of the best apple cakes I've made/eaten this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Thanks for submitting this recipe. My family loved it! The only change I would make the next time is I would cut the apples smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this exactly as suggested, we really didn't like the texture or flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to make for a Romanian friend and I found this one. I tried it and she said that she hadn't tasted this cake since she was home in Romanania. It is just like her mom used to make! My family loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States