Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is such a good recipe, I HAD to write a review about it. REALLY EASY. I made it three times this past week, because it was that good! I recommend the recipe exactly as it is, it's very moist, and not extremely sweet. I used green apples the third time I made it, and it tasted far better than with red, yellow or even dried apples. I also tried this recipe with granulated splenda instead of sugar for my diabetic dad, and it tasted very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann
Home Town: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
this was so so easy and so delicious. my boyfriend is romanian so i was looking up recipes that might remind him of home and this one was a hit! I made one in the afternoon and it was gone by the evening. I made another one the next day and same thing! I made another and took it to work and everyone ate it up. FANTASTIC! definite keeper :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Made exactly as stated but did not care for the texture. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very good. I was a little nervous at first because it was very thick, but it turned out great. I added a little nutmeg a cut down the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSVOMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I HAVE A COOKING GROUP WITH DISABLED PEOPLE AND WE PICK A RECIPE FROM A DIFFERENT COUNTRY EACH WEEK. THIS WEEK IT WAS ROMANIA AND WE MADE THE ROMANIAN APPLE CAKE. IT WAS GREAT. I DID THE PREPERATION AND THEY PUT THE INGREDINETS TOGETHER. I HAD TO MAKE ONE ADJUSTMENT AND NOT USE NUTS. BECAUSE OF ALLERGIES BUT I DID USE RAISINS AND WE DIDN'T MISS THE CRUNCH AT ALL. ALSO I ONLY USED 1 CUP OF SUGAR AND THAT WAS FINE. WE DID PUT A WHIPPED TOPPING ON THE TOP AND SERVED WARM. ONCE AGAIN IT WAS A HUGE SUCCESS BEING THESE CLIENTS DON'T GET TO TRY NEW THINGS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is a great cake. Right away I decided I wanted to add 1 T. of cinnamon instead of what it called for. We are a cinnamon family, especially when it comes to cinnamoned apples. I added 1/4 t. salt to bring to enchance flavors since I believe that all recipes need a little salt. Yes, it seems that 5 apples is a lot, but it's not. The apple takes the cake in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
What a great recipe! After reading other reviews, and then trying this recipe out myself, I also thought there were way too many apples.. But I was wrong. :) The batter expands, so once it bakes, it doesn't seem like too many at all, and they definitely make the overall cake more moist. Some changes I made : 1) For the apples, I used 3 Golden Delicious and 2 Granny Smith, and I didn't peel any of them. 2) I used 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar. 3) Alongside the cinnamon and vanilla, I also added nutmeg, lemon extract, and cocoa (which added a GREAT light chocolately taste). With all those ingredients, I never measure exactly.. I just kind of use my best judgement. But I would guess that I used about 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tbsp lemon, and 2-3 tbsp cocoa. 4) Finally, I didn't add walnuts (although I definitely would in the future - I was just making this for my bf's house and he doesn't really like nuts in cakes), but instead I added raisins. Once again, didn't measure how much.. but I would guess 3/4 c. My only complaint is that the batter was kind of difficult to mix.. and then once I added the apples it was REALLY difficult to mix. Was a bit discouraging - thought I did something wrong.. But the cake came out great. :) Thanks for the recipe! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Well Aged
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is the ugliest cake - going into the oven - but, when it is done - WOW! I've made this many times and find peeled/cored Granny Smith apples work best. My Romanian friends say, "savuros" (sp?) Try lightly sprinkling it with cinnamon-sugar before baking. Check out the picture I took the first time I made this cake - its only gotten better. Petrecere frumoasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Well Aged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Was looking for something not terribly sweet to fix after all the Christmas goodies. This was perfect. I did make a carmel glaze for the people that wanted a little extra sweetness added to theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Aransas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This is fantastic. Wow. I could have eaten the whole thing myself. I drizzeled a butter and sugar mixture over the warm cake as a glaze. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States