Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was very good. I scaled it down to 8 servings and it worked well in an 11x7 pan (or 8x8 would work) for about 40 minutes, give or take. (I have just made it this once and had to add to my original time) Suggestions: Sprinkle top with sugar before baking - I used 1-2 Tb. - was very yummy. Also, I cut up too many apples. Really, the recipe should probably read "cups" instead of apples. I only used about 1 1/2 large apples (Gala) for my 8-serving recipe. I think I put too much flour in. If I hadn't been lazy by scooping the measuring cup in and had spooned the flour in the cup like I was supposed to, I'm sure this would have been perfect. Was a hit for my family! Would taste wonderful with a side of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frogmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Wow. I must say, this is probably my favorite apple recipe now. It's fast, easy, not too much chopping involved... I hate when I have to sit and cut 10 apples into little paper thin slivers, haha. :) I made it without the walnuts, but my family ADORED IT. It was gone in 15 minutes. No lie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetie Keesie
Home Town: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Wow - just like I'd get when I visited the DDR as a child. Loved it! The baked cake is light and just lightly flavored with cinnamon. The apples are soft and moist and the walnuts give just a bit more texture. My husband, his co-workers, and I just ate it all up quickly! I'm heading to the store for some more apples today to have one for home! I used all Granny Smith and added about 1/2 c of raisins. Rustic and flavorful! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My husband is Romanian, and he absolutly loved this cake. The only thing I did different was to add 2tsp. of cinnamon instead of 1 and it came out perfect. What a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I'm half Romanian and this cake brought back wonderful memories of my grandma's cooking.. Delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this for the first time the other day and it turned out moist and delicious! It didn't last long,but this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aldan, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I work for an elderly man on the weekends private duty and found this recipe that one of the regular weekday people use to make for him as a special treat. I decided to make it but the batter turned out sooooo full of apples that I thought that I had done something wrong--necessitating yet another trip to Allrecipes to see if I could find a similar recipe and whether I had, indeed, made it correctly. While looking for and eventually finding this recipe--the cake came out of the oven--just as wonderful as I remember it from my weekend gig and my husband tore into it--he's currently on his second piece and I love it, too. The gal to whom the recipe belongs also told me it's a somewhat forgiving recipe--she's made it with Splenda, with whole wheat flour, even with one less egg once and generally got a good cake. My house smells so heavenly right now!! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is SO good. I've made it three times now and every time someone asks for the recipe. I've done red delicious, granny smiths and fuji apples, all were good. I made this in a spring form pan and covered with a quick powdered sugar icing to make it pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
It can't get much easier than this! Simple, tasty, quick. Not a glamourous dessert but it's just right for a casual supper or a snack cake. I can see this being a big hit with bake sales, etc. I followed the recipe as written but made a 1/2 batch and baked it in an 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is such a good recipe, I HAD to write a review about it. REALLY EASY. I made it three times this past week, because it was that good! I recommend the recipe exactly as it is, it's very moist, and not extremely sweet. I used green apples the third time I made it, and it tasted far better than with red, yellow or even dried apples. I also tried this recipe with granulated splenda instead of sugar for my diabetic dad, and it tasted very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann
Home Town: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States