Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Doubled the cinnamon and left out the walnuts (migraines!) and this was very good. Definitely better the second day, when the moisture from the apples draws into the cake. There are many similar recipes to this all AllRecipes, but with the big chunks of apples in this one, it might be the easiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I was surprised how well this turned out! Definitely tastes better the next day -- just cover after it cools from the oven. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar and upped the spices (cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg) and cut the apples into 1/2 inch wedges as 1 inch seems huge. I also tried adding a middle streusal layer (of blended pecans, brown sugar and butter like a coffee cake topping) instead of the walnuts, and this was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Superb quality and simplicity. Followed the recipe to the letter. Gets better every day. Moist and an old world spice sweet. The perfect texture - I've never had a cake set so consistently as this one. Thank-you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
OMG this has to be the best apple recipe ever. I made this thanks to sassyoldlady's picture, so a big thank you to here! I think it was absolutely perfect exactly as written. It definitely doesn't need an icing. It is moist and just the perfect amount of sweet. I would highly recommend that everyone tries this at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Wow! This cake is amazing! I used Jonathan apples and thought it turned out perfectly. I also let mine bake about 5-10 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
delicious! Did not add walnuts so our one year old could enjoy it too. Perfect sweetness for us but the amount of sugar to use really depends on your apples. TASTE your apples first, if they are already sweet, reduce your sugar; if they are tart add a bit more. We loved this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a nice apple cake, made to the recipe. My apples carry a lot of moisture, so needs a little more flour for me, otherwise it's too moist. I would have liked to see some more cinnamon in it. Good warmed up. Did powdered sugar glaze for the top, but it doesn't really need anything. Thanks for the recipe. 10/26/09~I have made this 3 times since this review, just a hint, I used about 4 cups of sliced apples as most apple cake/crisp recipes use this amount. Since varying apples are different sizes (mine are huge, I only use two for 4 cups) it helps to know how much instead of how many. 9/12/2010~made apple muffins from this. Used 4 Cups of apples, subbed 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil(which I always do), made in dark muffin pans, lowered temp to 325 cooked 22 to 24 minutes, got 18 muffins. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I didn't think this cake was all that great. I even laughed when I read one of the reviews said it was too sweet. This is a dessert that I would recommend to someone who doesn't like sweet desserts. I just felt like something was missing. It was very bland. I put butter on my piece while it was warm just to give it some flavor. One of my kids wanted to know why I made bread with apples in it. I guess you could add cream cheese frosting. The recipe is simple but so is the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is one great recipe. The first cake I baked I used a mix of apples. I found 6 cups of large chunks is about right and I do mean large. Mine were about half the size of a base ball diamond. The second cake was made with twenty ounce pepin. I only need two of the pepin to make six cups. They are huge. I will try Braeburn next which we do grow in Michigan as well as other parts of the U.S. I used 2 tsp of cinnamon and one and a little less than 1/3 of sugar. I think the sugar depends on how sour the apples are. I would only use the 1 1/2 cups of sugar if the apples were sour. I take dinner out to my sister and brother-in-laws helpers at their orchard. This week it is going to be beef stew, biscuits and apple cake of course. This is truly a must try cake and the recipe goes together quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
the cake was wonderful!, I changed it a little. I used baking powder instead of baking soda, also granny smith apples and I put the apples on top of the batter in the pan and sprinkled it with a little cinnamon and sugar. Also I added some nutmeg. And since I am allergic to walnuts I used pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyhughes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States