Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is wonderful!!! I have found a new cake for the holidays. Didn't have any walnuts. So moist and good. Got it out of the oven and it is nearly gone. Made a fresh pot of coffee to go with it as I was out of milk. Told my husband that it would be good with ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Made it several times. Always delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I made exactly like recipe. It was very easy and turned out awesome!! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
this is my favorite apple cake recipe! you can switch the sugar for splenda but I add water to get the batter consistency right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was my best baking effort ever!! The cake is delicious, moist has great flavor and came out of the pan and cut like a dream. I made the whole thing in my food processor and dumped...easy! My hubby has had a piece every time he walks in the kitchen! I followed the recipe exactly but only used two small apples I had on hand and some ripe mango. I tossed flour, pecans and butter together and topped it before baking. Incredibly delicious. I think the reviews that thought the cake wasn't tasty used old cinnamon or not enough vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is a great recipe! Of course being that I am Romanian myself, I had to give it a try. I've used it for countless gatherings, occasions, etc. each time I make it, people rave about it and ask for the recipe. My mother-in-law (who was born in Romania) also asked me for this recipe so that's how I definitely knew this was a hit. It is a moist and delicious cake! I especially like that it is not overly sweet. I usually coat the cake with powdered sugar well after it cooled off, or....... for those days when I just need the "extra something", I serve it warm out of the oven with a scoop of ice cream (preferably vanilla or butter pecan) right on top. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
So easy to make and absolutely deeeeelicious! My husband had a pot luck at work so I made this cake and it was a big success! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I thought this was pretty good and actually better than expected. When I attempt a recipe the first time I typically cut it in half so as not to waste ingredients just in-case its not to my liking. I did the same with this recipe and baked it in a bread pan. When it was done I lightly dusted it with powdered sugar for a garnish. The batter was a tad too sweet, but was slightly balanced with the fresh apples and walnuts. I only had to take it out of the oven 5 minutes earlier due to baking a smaller portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by JMANNING
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Wonderful cake recipe. I used a apple slicer and then I diced them into half inch pieces. Total apples were five cups. Added double the cinnamon than suggested which maybe wasn't necessary. Also ran out of vanilla so I got two teaspoons instead of three into the mix which was fine. No nuts. Made a drizzle with a half cup of powdered sugar and a tablespoon of milk. Everyone gobbled it right up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a family pleaser! I don't use the nuts. Easy, Fast, Fresh, Good, and Not to Sweet! I use a 9x9 pan, and when it's done I turn it out onto a large plate when still warm, and with a large salad fork poke a bunch of "drain" holes in it, then I make a butter & powered sugar icing and drizzle it all over. It seeps into the holes, and YUMMY!! We like to just use our fingers and use it as a finger bread/snack/desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States