Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Paloma
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I used this recipe to make fondant for the first time ever, I got great comments on the taste, everyone ate all the fondant on their slice (which is great because fondant usually has a weird after taste) that's not the case with this recipe. The only problem is that I found it very hard to handle, it kept tearing apart and it was too greasy, next time I'll use less shortening for sure, hopefully that will make it easier to handle too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Not usually a big fondant fan, but this is very easy to make and use, and tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Greaat Recipe! I ran out of confectioners sugar so I used flour instead to keep it from sticking! But it worked just as well! I will upload a picture also! The pink one with the bow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Only gets two stars because of the taste. It is really hard to work with. I had a lot of trouble draping it over my cake. I kept getting holes in it, so I had to roll it thicker, but then it just weighed down my cake and made it look frumpy. Wish it were stiffer. I tried more confectioners sugar to stiffen the fondant. Adding more sugar made it fall apart. Too much of a headache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Too Greasy. I couldn't roll this out at all, and I even tried adding LOTS more sugar. I ended up using my usual fondant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny Maxwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This recipe just did not turn out. The first time I tried it, it was very greasy, despite chilling it before use, and when I tried to pick it up after rolling it, it completely fell apart. The second time, it was more pliable and not as greasy, but the same thing happened. I'm not sure if it's something I did or it's hust this recipe or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaufresBrules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe was way to greasy and it continued to crack and fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This is an incredible fondant recipe, especially for beginners. I used almond extract in place of the vanilla, and people raved about how delicious it was. I've never liked fondant, but this made me a believer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I love this recipe. It is super easy!! I had never used fondant and made an awesome cake the first try with this recipe. I did use half the amt of crisco (like other reviews suggested) I also use the hook of the stand mixer which I am sure makes it much easier to make. My kids love the taste. I had no promblems with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This recipe was a life saver! Normally i buy the shop fondant to roll but the shelves were empty! I had to use Golden Syrup as an alternative to corn syrup as I live in Malta and couldn't find that either - but all worked out in the end and I am very grateful :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyPersian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States