Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I followed the instruction, and it came out very greasy. I would add more sugar, and it would look good, then I would roll it...greasy all over. It was a pain and a half to put on the cake. The fondant began to rip. The only thing it had going for it, is the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I did use only 1/2 cup of shorting like other people have said. It tasted great, but I had a hard time putting it on the cake which is why am giving it 4 starts; it was easy to fix it just toke a lot of time. It was not greasy at all. The only other problem that I had was coloring the fondant. I will use it again. I did double the recipe because I made a 4 tier cake that where the cake size is 9 inches each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My fondant turned out bad. I didnt like it, it tasted good but it looked like a big glob of bubblegum. At first I thought it turned out great. I wrapped it up & put it in the fridge for a few days before I made the cake. But when it came time to use it it was so greasy, morbidly greasy. It would not roll out, I spent 3 hours trying to fix it. I don't know if I did something wrong or what. I added confection sugar to try & make it less greasy & pliable to no avail. Desperate to fix it, I even tried to incorporate melted marshmellows which actually helped alot. In the end I got the top of the cake covered, the rest tore off the edges. My cake turned out alright, I improvised, but I was dissapointed with the fondant itself. It was my first time so it could just be I need practice, I see other peoples turned out good. So who knows, but personally I will try a marshmallow fondant next time. It did taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
my first time with fondant. i ended up adding an extra half bag of icing sugar to get rid of the greasy appearance. i've never actually tasted fondant so i couldn't tell you if it turned out properly. to my husband and i, it tasted like candy corn (the orange, yellow and white candy you get at halloween). it was really easy to use,especially with a fondant roller so that i could make sure that the thickness was even. i found that using it with chocolate butter cream icing on a chocolate cake was way too sweet, but i'm definitely going to make it again to use to decorate sugar cookies. i think it will be perfect for this and lessen the amount of the time it takes to decorate. i'm also excited about using it to decorate the gingerbread house at christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paloma
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I used this recipe to make fondant for the first time ever, I got great comments on the taste, everyone ate all the fondant on their slice (which is great because fondant usually has a weird after taste) that's not the case with this recipe. The only problem is that I found it very hard to handle, it kept tearing apart and it was too greasy, next time I'll use less shortening for sure, hopefully that will make it easier to handle too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Not usually a big fondant fan, but this is very easy to make and use, and tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Greaat Recipe! I ran out of confectioners sugar so I used flour instead to keep it from sticking! But it worked just as well! I will upload a picture also! The pink one with the bow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Only gets two stars because of the taste. It is really hard to work with. I had a lot of trouble draping it over my cake. I kept getting holes in it, so I had to roll it thicker, but then it just weighed down my cake and made it look frumpy. Wish it were stiffer. I tried more confectioners sugar to stiffen the fondant. Adding more sugar made it fall apart. Too much of a headache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Too Greasy. I couldn't roll this out at all, and I even tried adding LOTS more sugar. I ended up using my usual fondant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny Maxwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This recipe just did not turn out. The first time I tried it, it was very greasy, despite chilling it before use, and when I tried to pick it up after rolling it, it completely fell apart. The second time, it was more pliable and not as greasy, but the same thing happened. I'm not sure if it's something I did or it's hust this recipe or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaufresBrules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States