Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Tasty! Everyone always loves it! Not hard or dry like some I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARONE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I do really like this recipe! There is a fine line though between it being too greasy, and then cracking if you add too much sugar. This fondant makes it easy to mend areas that have cracked since it is so soft, but because of the softness you just don't get the firm clean look of regular fondant. If you are going for a very clean and even look you may want to chose a different recipe. If taste matters to you more than look (it usually does for me :)) then this is the recipe for you because it tastes ten times better than regular fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
one of the worst recipe I had ever tried. I want to make a fondant cake for my daughter but it was a epic failure.It was so greasy, unable to fold, always crumbled and tasted like oil. I would never try this recipe it was really waste of time, money and energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
A mess, all I can say is this was a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I agree with the reviewers that said this comes out a little greasy. I think if you really know what you're doing, this isn't a great recipe. If, however, you're a newbie, the "greasiness" allows you to work with the fondant a TON, which can be a good thing. I was able to incorporate a lot of powdered sugar as I worked with this and figured out exactly what I wanted to do. Overall, it really is okay, but I'm going to look for another recipe for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Keane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was a sad nasty mess. Very disappointing. Even after coloring it dark green it had a sweaty white film on it. I added a TON of sugar (another half almost!) and then it was crackly and just terrible. Not pretty, and not tasty. My son gave me a pitty "it's good." but I could tell he just didn't want to hurt my feelings. I couldn't roll it this enough because it was flaking apart, so it wasn't even pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SixPoundSkillet
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Thank you for a fondant recipe that doesn't require expensive chemicals. I wasn't able to wrap it around my rolling pin per the video, so I rolled it flat onto a cookie sheet, chilled for 5 minutes, and flipped upside-down onto my cake. I found it easier to do larger shapes than details, this fondant wants to go jagged if you're not doing straight lines or using a cookie cutter. Overall, I am grateful for this simple recipe designed for those of us who don't rely on gizmos and gadgets and chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SixPoundSkillet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
seriously the worst fondant I have ever used. It was so greasy and ripped every time I tried to use it. I definitely would not recommend anyone waste the ingredients to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I have used this recipe for the past 3 years to make my daughters birthday cakes. The only thing I can say is that the fondant tastes so yummy that i have to hid it from my husband or he eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
terrible taste!!!... also, no matter how many times I kneaded the dough, it still broke apart once I rolled it out and tried to lay it on the cake. I think it asked for way too much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonidlg38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States