Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was the first time every working with fondant. IT was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Camper 09

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Annabelle
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very easy, forgiving fondant recipe for this first-timer! I will definitely make it again. I read the tips in these reviews and found them VERY helpful, especially the ones about spreading regular frosting on the cake first so the fondant sticks, and rolling between two sheets of wax paper. Worked like a charm! I also used half butter and half shortening and everyone at the party raved about how good the frosting tasted. I didn't find the "greasy" texture to be a problem. In fact, it allowed me to smooth the fondant with my fingers and repair little bubbles and cracks. Addendum: Just taught my almost-8-year-old Cub Scout how to make this. This time, we used all shortening and it tasted just as good. He had fun and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
WOW .. this actually tastes good!! I substituted the clear vanilla with a 8-1 almond and lemon pure extract and still in the bowl, freshly kneaded had my husband pinch off a piece - said it had a great after-taste too. great recipie - thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmsarles
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This recipe is so delicious I couldn't stop nibbling at it! I don't know if it's the recipe or my climate, but I had to add a lot more powdered sugar to make it firm enough to mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I have never made fondant before, but I followed the recipe exactly. The fondant came out greasy and soft. It tasted great, but it tore very easily, and I couldn't get it to hold its shape. I wonder it you can't make fondant that tastes great and works well at the same times. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KIMBERLEY1017
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Best homemade fondant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBERLEY1017

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I would use this recipe if i needed a shiny-looking fondant. But if you need a matte looking one, try another rolled fondant recipe, that doesn't have as much fat in it. p.s: I didn't actually try this recipe, though. I gave it 4 stars because that's its average rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This recipe yielded a greasy and fondant that could be rolled smooth but was too crumbly to keep it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
wonderful recipe!!!! I've used other fondants before, but this recipe is easiest!! Love it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is slightly flawed. If you use the icing sugar as it tells you to, it will end up Much to sweet and greasy. Substitute a little bit of icing sugar for cake flour and this makes it a lovely fondant. When dying it, be careful not to handle it to much for it WILL MELT. Happy Cooking! Robal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States