Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Waaaaaay too sweet. We were barely able to eat the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Great recipe. This was my first time ever making fondant and it turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I can suggest is have patience with the fondant. Trying to rush and move quickly can lead to cracks and tears. Be patient and creative and you'll come out with something beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
i chose this recipe because of the ingredients. Yummy. i wanted to do a beautiful cake for my daughters 1st birthday and i tried and tried and tried correcting this fondant. Added more sugar. Added some cake flour. but it tore no matter what! nothing like the smooth curtain that fondant should be. So this is what i had to do to make it work - ROLLED IT OUT ONTO A BIG PLATE. PLACED THE PLATE ON TOP OF MY CAKE. POPPED IT IN THE MICROWAVE TILL IT WAS WARM AND FELL OFF. SO I MOULDED THE REMAINDER OF IT ONTO THE CAKE. WORKED. TASTED DELICIOUS. WILL I MAKE IT AGAIN? NO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My family said that this was pretty good and I found it to be very easy to make for my first time making fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Easy, breezy. My first time to make it & it turned out pretty good. The taste is just OK, but I was going for the look more than flavor. I added food color with no problems. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This recipe tasted good, but like someone else mentioned I thought it was quite greasy and not quite the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was my first time trying fondant and I was super excited to try it because things seemed to be going so well. I made some beautiful different colored balls and put it in the fridge. Then I got prepped to roll it out to decorate my cake. It wouldn't roll out, it was greasy and sticky no matter how much confectioners sugar. I ended up having to throw out the whole batch which was dissapointing for how much product I used. I am just glad that it was just a practice run and not for an important event. I will keep searching for a different recipe for fondant. Sorry but this just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
It's a decent recipe, tastes good. A bit hard to work with if it's your first time... I would add a bit more sugar to it, and use your hands to mix everything. It's a messier method, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tonya
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was my very first time working with fondant and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. This recipe was a little too greasy so the next time I try it I will use a little less shortening. I didn't have clear vanilla so I used lemon and I didn't like the flavor much. Ok I tried it again and I will not try it a third time. It's too difficult to work with and I still don't like the taste even after using the required ingredients. I'm going to try the marshmallow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Use a fondant with gelatin instead of this recipe. I wanted to try this one because it looked simpler than other recipes, but I would not use it again. Fondant was easy to make, but turned out greasy and was very difficult to work with at normal room temperature. I refrigerated the fondant, but it became very soft very quickly, and the shapes I cut out of it became distorted. Fondant with gelatin in it is a bit more difficult to make, but that effort is more than saved when you are actually working with the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States