Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is hands down, the best tasting fondant I've ever had. You know how most fondants have a almost rubbery flavor and texture? Not this one. This one tastes like frosting, but firmer. I really don't have experience MAKING other fondants, so I don't know what to compare that part to. All I can say is it worked fine and covered well. The ONLY draw back I can think of is it had to stay refrigerated until I could get it on the cake. Otherwise it was too soft to work with. I will definitely be using this recipe again. No need to look elsewhere! BTW, I also used regular vanilla. If you want it super white, then you need to use clear vanilla and maybe go to a craft or cake store to get frosting whitener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I didn't have much luck with the fondant. It started cracking before I got a chance to add all the icing. I rolled the fondant between two sheets of plastic wrap and it worked well and rolled it on my rolling pin to transfer to cake, however, it cracked before I could finish covering the cake. I tried smoothing out the fondant to hide the cracks, but it didn't look perfect. The fondant had a marzipan color, not white as I expected it to be. Rubbing the fondant too much after covering the cake makes the fondant shiny, so don´t touch it unnecessarily. I was so unhappy with the fondant that I decided to take it off the cake. I won´t be using this recipe again, but I´m glad it works for others. Btw, the taste is ok, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I found this too greasy and too soft to do anything with...it cracked and tore apart. It did look really pretty and white in the bowl but it was a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Very good recipe to work with. Even tasted way better than the stuff you can buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiester Mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kiester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was my 2nd time making fondant, I first tried another recipe I found on AR... unfortunately, I had just as bad of luck with this recipe. I followed this recipe exactly, and while it seemed to be okay at first, when I took it out later that evening to start decorating, it was extremely greasy and kept tearing. There was no "gumption" to it at all. It seems everyone else has had good luck, so it was probably beginners bad luck - but I have no idea what I did wrong. Better luck next time I hope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bubbleguppy
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
i love this recipe! it's so easy to make & taste so so much better and way better texture than store made, the first time i made it i hated it. the second time it worked like a charm! use sugar that says confectioners powdered sugar. do NOT use anything that says 1ox it will make the fondant gummy cracked, and it sweats and falls apart! and use salted real butter for a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this last night the flavor was good, although when I went to roll the fondant out it would not work it was soft and it kept breaking and sticking. I kept adding confectioners sugar but it just would not work.i read somewhere today you are supposed to let the fondant sit at least 8 hours. That would've been nice to know so I wouldn't have thrown it away and gotten so frustrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is so good! It's really really easy to make and always truns out great! teaste great to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickbaker101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
EASY and delicious!!!! This was my very first time working with fondant, and my cake was EPIC! I was able to decorate one large "perry the platypus" cake, and 3 small ones to match. I used cocoa powder to make brown for his tail, and the flavor was unbelievable! I highly recommend finding an excuse to make chocolate :) just omit a little powdered sugar and replace with equal amount cocoa powder until you get the shade you want. I've made two more cakes since, and recipe has consistent results. Just make sure you refrigerate (I made mine a day in advance), and use canned frosting in a very thin layer to stick better to the cake, and you'll rock out a cake that will look like a million bucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Greasy and cracked no matter what I tried. As soon as I peeled it off the counter it broke... didn't even make it on my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States