Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I have been reading the reviews on this recipe and am game to give it a try... I see that is serves 45.... OK, so how does this break down to serving size for an 8-9 inch round double layer cake or 2 8X8 square pans.... you get the idea thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeAnn Clark-Edwards

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I just tried making it THREE times using the exact measurements, but I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. The consistency for this fondant is too greasy and keeps falling apart. There is NO WAY I can use this as my fondant. I wanted to make a 'DRUM CAKE' using this recipe for an upcoming birthday this weekend. I especially bought all the listed ingredients, and now I have no clue what to do - I'm super bummed right now!!! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It tasted good but was to difficult to handle it cracked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nordia Henriques

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I can see this going well on a cake, it was a perfect consistency even when rolled thin. I followed this recipe exactly with no problems. I've seen this type of coating before and wondered what it was. But now I would have no trouble making it again as well as coloring it. VERY Satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I am SO very glad that I used this recipe on my "practice" cake for my son's first birthday. I read the poor reviews and thought that if I were really careful and followed the advice of the people writing good reviews that I could make it work. WRONG!! All of the things that other people are saying are 100% true - too greasy, impossible to get onto the cake and non-recoverable with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Graham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Easy to make and tasted great! Good recipe for aspiring kid bakers. Enough for 3 or more colors to make awesome creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Ill stick with store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
looks easy but I've never made or used fondant before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martensville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
It is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I made this strict to recipe, but I added food coloring to make it blue. I'm not sure if that caused an imbalance somewhere, but the fondant ended up either too greasy to roll or fell apart as soon as I tried to put it on the cake. It tasted great, but I'm going to stick it in the fridge overnight before trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States