Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was my first time ever making fondant, and it came out very well. The recipe was easy to follow and tasted great as well. I also added some food coloring and it worked like a charm. Very Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is a FUN recipe! I was definitely be using again. It rolled out very smooth, but I did have trouble when I went to drape it over my cake. I think I will need to add more sugar next time to make it even more stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This is the first time I ever used fondant, and I am pleasantly suprised with the results. Here's a tip for those who can't figure out how to get it on the cake -- roll the fondant between sheets of wax paper and then reverse roll it onto the rolling pin with a layer of wax paper on the fondant. I just rolled it off the roller and then peeled the wax paper off. It came out looking great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Are you kidding me? This recipe is AWESOME. Thankyou SO much. It's so easy to make and use and tastes 100% better than plastic store bought. I will definitly use this over and over! Seriously cant believe how great it came out. One tip, be very accurate on measurments to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
569 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
A little hard to get the right consistency but I placed it in the oven to speed up the "drying" process. Flavor is good. Incredients are things you have around the home...I think a recipe with gumpaste turns out better but with what it has in it this is an amazing concept!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was really good. It was my second attemp at making fondant. The first time didn't work. THis was easy and a great consistency. However I still cant figure out how to get the fondant from the surface onto the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I made this with my eight-year-old after being disappointed with store-bought fondant. It was very easy to make and tastes *good*. I added food coloring to it to decorate my son's birthday cake and I love it. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was the first time I ever tried making a fondant cake, and I was pleasantly surprised. I'm not sure whether 10X or 4X confectioner's sugar works best... Had no real problems with this icing - it tastes a LOT better than other fondant I've had. I got lots of compliments on it, despite the fact that my cake was a little droopy after being transported across three states. I found it was necessary to refrigerate the dough after working in the dye because all the activity made it a little sticky. Refrigeration makes it easier to cut out shapes, roll, etc. (but I didn't refrigerate the cake after decorating it). If you just want one color, I suggest adding dye before adding the sugar - it blends a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! I have tried other fondant and figured I wouldnt be using it on my cakes but with this recipe it is a great experience. I use my kitchen aid which helps alot with the mixing. I have used this recipe twice in the last 10 days and will use it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
so easy and delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: University City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States