Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I love this recipe. One thing that should be mentioned though when using fondant. You have to put a thin layer of frosting on the cake first if you want the fondant to stick. Using the canned stuff is fine. Just make sure its not the "whipped" kind. For some reason it doesnt hold very well. And dont glob it on like youre normally frosting a cake. Just a very thin layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This is the first time I ever used fondant, and I am pleasantly suprised with the results. Here's a tip for those who can't figure out how to get it on the cake -- roll the fondant between sheets of wax paper and then reverse roll it onto the rolling pin with a layer of wax paper on the fondant. I just rolled it off the roller and then peeled the wax paper off. It came out looking great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
good recipe - TIPS: Sift the powdered sugar into the mixture, don't dump it all at once otherwise you get lumps. The more you knead, the better & smoother the texture. Don't be tempted to add too much powdered sugar because its more prone to cracking. It takes practice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1674 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Are you kidding me? This recipe is AWESOME. Thankyou SO much. It's so easy to make and use and tastes 100% better than plastic store bought. I will definitly use this over and over! Seriously cant believe how great it came out. One tip, be very accurate on measurments to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
569 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
WoW..... This is what I've been looking for...Super easy to make, sometimes it needs a little more XXX sugar...I leave it sit for aleast 2 hour..it helps with that greasy texture... I use a 20 qt. the Kitchen Aid can't handle the load, so if you use a Kitchen Aid you have to get the dough out ASAP and you have to kneed it longer.. and sit longer because it will get super soft.. as far as rolling it out.. try letting it sit for about 5 minutes before you punch out shapes and or lifting the icing Thanks for the Recipe Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
499 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marbear
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I made this and it did crack a little, but it got the job done. I rolled it out onto parchment paper, which made it easier to pick up and flip onto the cake. It doesn't add anything spectacular to the cake taste-wise, but the main purpose of fondant is to sit there and look pretty, which this does. Also, for measuring purposes - I made 1/3 of the recipe, and it did well covering a 9-inch round one-layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
387 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
this fondant tasted great, but i had problems with it. it turned out super greasy so i kept adding confectioners sugar to it. then it was so heavy that it kept tearing when placed on the cake...what did i do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was my first time ever making fondant, and it came out very well. The recipe was easy to follow and tasted great as well. I also added some food coloring and it worked like a charm. Very Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I really liked this recipe. It's the first time I'd ever made fondant. I used more powdered sugar than it called for, regular vanilla extract and butter. It wasn't as white as some fondant, but it warked for the dogwood cookies I made. I got lots of great remarks on the taste! I will stick with this fondant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is a FUN recipe! I was definitely be using again. It rolled out very smooth, but I did have trouble when I went to drape it over my cake. I think I will need to add more sugar next time to make it even more stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States