Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
looks easy but I've never made or used fondant before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martensville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
It is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I made this strict to recipe, but I added food coloring to make it blue. I'm not sure if that caused an imbalance somewhere, but the fondant ended up either too greasy to roll or fell apart as soon as I tried to put it on the cake. It tasted great, but I'm going to stick it in the fridge overnight before trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Too greasy, too soft, hard to mold shapes. not really good for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
i give this recipe absolutely no stars... i have a customer who needs fondant without the use of gelatin, so i thought i would try this recipe again.i have made three different batches using all of your recommendations and it just won't firm up and it keeps tearing...gonna try the mmf again, hopefully it works, cake is due tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by purrplekitti
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This came out very greasy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
the worst recipe i have tried. kept tearing. so crumbly at first. then very soft but kept cracking when kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Easy to prepare and it cost less to do it yourself instead of buying the one that is already made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This fondant does not handle very well. And yes! It's very greasy. It does not have the pliability to handle covering a cake well. It does not allow you to roll it out very thinly, but its good for making on cake applicaes. And it does taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
It gets a tad crumbly as you add more powdered sugar to put it on a cake. Since you put a buttercream crumb coat on anyway, fold in about 2 tablespoons of that buttercream and you have a more elastic, easier to manage fondant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States