Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Easy, breezy. My first time to make it & it turned out pretty good. The taste is just OK, but I was going for the look more than flavor. I added food color with no problems. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This recipe tasted good, but like someone else mentioned I thought it was quite greasy and not quite the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was my first time trying fondant and I was super excited to try it because things seemed to be going so well. I made some beautiful different colored balls and put it in the fridge. Then I got prepped to roll it out to decorate my cake. It wouldn't roll out, it was greasy and sticky no matter how much confectioners sugar. I ended up having to throw out the whole batch which was dissapointing for how much product I used. I am just glad that it was just a practice run and not for an important event. I will keep searching for a different recipe for fondant. Sorry but this just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
It's a decent recipe, tastes good. A bit hard to work with if it's your first time... I would add a bit more sugar to it, and use your hands to mix everything. It's a messier method, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tonya
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was my very first time working with fondant and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. This recipe was a little too greasy so the next time I try it I will use a little less shortening. I didn't have clear vanilla so I used lemon and I didn't like the flavor much. Ok I tried it again and I will not try it a third time. It's too difficult to work with and I still don't like the taste even after using the required ingredients. I'm going to try the marshmallow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Use a fondant with gelatin instead of this recipe. I wanted to try this one because it looked simpler than other recipes, but I would not use it again. Fondant was easy to make, but turned out greasy and was very difficult to work with at normal room temperature. I refrigerated the fondant, but it became very soft very quickly, and the shapes I cut out of it became distorted. Fondant with gelatin in it is a bit more difficult to make, but that effort is more than saved when you are actually working with the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vegcandace
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
The only problem I had with this recipe was that it seemed so oily. Maybe because I used butter instead of shortening? Because it was so oily I couldn't roll it without it being stuck and then tearing. To take care of this I simply added lots of confectioner's sugar and cornstarch. I didn't eat any of it but the people who did said it was good; better than store-bought. Was a good, basic recipe and easy to work with once all the extra powdered sugar was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegcandace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Very greasy and hard to handle. Hope it turns out better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I gave this two stars because yes, it did make a fondant but after trying again and again, I cannot get this recipe to be anything other than greasy and it tears so easily that it's not worth the trouble to even make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Awesome recipe, kept trying to make the marshmallow fondant and in 110 degree weather it just wasn't working. Came out just like the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States