Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
EASY and delicious!!!! This was my very first time working with fondant, and my cake was EPIC! I was able to decorate one large "perry the platypus" cake, and 3 small ones to match. I used cocoa powder to make brown for his tail, and the flavor was unbelievable! I highly recommend finding an excuse to make chocolate :) just omit a little powdered sugar and replace with equal amount cocoa powder until you get the shade you want. I've made two more cakes since, and recipe has consistent results. Just make sure you refrigerate (I made mine a day in advance), and use canned frosting in a very thin layer to stick better to the cake, and you'll rock out a cake that will look like a million bucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Greasy and cracked no matter what I tried. As soon as I peeled it off the counter it broke... didn't even make it on my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Doesn't taste fantastic and doesn't look as nice as the marshmallow or store-bought fondant, but does get the job done. Use more powdered sugar on your work surface than you feel is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Easy recipe for disaster. Makes a greasy, gritty mess. Tears as soon as you pick it up off of the counter if it hasn't already torn from sticking to the roller. Only good for accents on cupcakes cookies, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe was great and easy to make. The flavor isn't bad like with some other fondants. The texture was a little greasy for me, but that cleared up while kneading in extra powdered sugar when I incorporated the food coloring. I used gels for this and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
it was so greasy and ripped so easy!! the onlyy thing good, was the taste. but even when i added more sugar it didnt help. i will neverr use this recipe again. i couldnt even get it to go over my cake. it tore way to easy, and now my whole kitchen is greasy and sticky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teddi Soder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is super easy, wonderful recipe that EXTREMELY EASY to make and use. I followed the directions exactly and was super happy. Even have some extra to play with on another day. I did leave it in the freezer for a bit to firm up making rolling it out between plastic wrap a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
No stars from me! Very upset. I ended up patching the fondant onto the cake. Thinking about starting over with a marshmallow recipe. I had read alot of good reviews on this and was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
awesome and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Horribly greasy :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States