Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was my 2nd time making fondant, I first tried another recipe I found on AR... unfortunately, I had just as bad of luck with this recipe. I followed this recipe exactly, and while it seemed to be okay at first, when I took it out later that evening to start decorating, it was extremely greasy and kept tearing. There was no "gumption" to it at all. It seems everyone else has had good luck, so it was probably beginners bad luck - but I have no idea what I did wrong. Better luck next time I hope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bubbleguppy
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
i love this recipe! it's so easy to make & taste so so much better and way better texture than store made, the first time i made it i hated it. the second time it worked like a charm! use sugar that says confectioners powdered sugar. do NOT use anything that says 1ox it will make the fondant gummy cracked, and it sweats and falls apart! and use salted real butter for a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this last night the flavor was good, although when I went to roll the fondant out it would not work it was soft and it kept breaking and sticking. I kept adding confectioners sugar but it just would not work.i read somewhere today you are supposed to let the fondant sit at least 8 hours. That would've been nice to know so I wouldn't have thrown it away and gotten so frustrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is so good! It's really really easy to make and always truns out great! teaste great to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickbaker101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
EASY and delicious!!!! This was my very first time working with fondant, and my cake was EPIC! I was able to decorate one large "perry the platypus" cake, and 3 small ones to match. I used cocoa powder to make brown for his tail, and the flavor was unbelievable! I highly recommend finding an excuse to make chocolate :) just omit a little powdered sugar and replace with equal amount cocoa powder until you get the shade you want. I've made two more cakes since, and recipe has consistent results. Just make sure you refrigerate (I made mine a day in advance), and use canned frosting in a very thin layer to stick better to the cake, and you'll rock out a cake that will look like a million bucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Greasy and cracked no matter what I tried. As soon as I peeled it off the counter it broke... didn't even make it on my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Doesn't taste fantastic and doesn't look as nice as the marshmallow or store-bought fondant, but does get the job done. Use more powdered sugar on your work surface than you feel is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Easy recipe for disaster. Makes a greasy, gritty mess. Tears as soon as you pick it up off of the counter if it hasn't already torn from sticking to the roller. Only good for accents on cupcakes cookies, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe was great and easy to make. The flavor isn't bad like with some other fondants. The texture was a little greasy for me, but that cleared up while kneading in extra powdered sugar when I incorporated the food coloring. I used gels for this and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
it was so greasy and ripped so easy!! the onlyy thing good, was the taste. but even when i added more sugar it didnt help. i will neverr use this recipe again. i couldnt even get it to go over my cake. it tore way to easy, and now my whole kitchen is greasy and sticky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teddi Soder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States