Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
If ya'll said it didn't turn out it' cuz you didn't put it in the fridge. It was super soft until I put it in the fridge...turned out perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Fondant should be "gummy" and you should be able to stretch it. I achieved this in the past with marshmallow fondant that I've made. This fondant is not "gummy" or stretchy. It was difficult to work with and very greasy. I use the Cricut Cake machine for my decorations. There is no way this fondant would have worked in that machine. It cracked easily and was not at all the texture of the marshmallow fondant I've made in the past. The only positive thing is, the kneading time was 1/10th what it is to make the marshmallow fondant. So, if you want a fondant that's easy to make, but hard to decorate with, this is a great recipe for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
The first time I made this I used my standing mixer and it came out very greasy and hard to work with. I second time I made it I mixed it 90 % by hand before using the standing mixer and the texture was much better. I also reduced the corn syrup by about two tablespoons, and it worked about great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I've used this recipe a few times now and it's sooo good! I always end up having to use more confectioners sugar than it says and I wouldn't want to make it without a stand mixer but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I had never used fondant before and this worked amazing!!! I hear fondant horror stories and totally can't relate! Awesome and easy recipe for making really cute cakes!!! Tastes good too:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I have tried this recipe taste really good but cracked all the time I rolled it. It was oily and difficult to work with. I followed the recipe exactly and ended up adding tons of sugar to make it work. Finally, it is still didn't work. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is hands down, the best tasting fondant I've ever had. You know how most fondants have a almost rubbery flavor and texture? Not this one. This one tastes like frosting, but firmer. I really don't have experience MAKING other fondants, so I don't know what to compare that part to. All I can say is it worked fine and covered well. The ONLY draw back I can think of is it had to stay refrigerated until I could get it on the cake. Otherwise it was too soft to work with. I will definitely be using this recipe again. No need to look elsewhere! BTW, I also used regular vanilla. If you want it super white, then you need to use clear vanilla and maybe go to a craft or cake store to get frosting whitener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Culver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I didn't have much luck with the fondant. It started cracking before I got a chance to add all the icing. I rolled the fondant between two sheets of plastic wrap and it worked well and rolled it on my rolling pin to transfer to cake, however, it cracked before I could finish covering the cake. I tried smoothing out the fondant to hide the cracks, but it didn't look perfect. The fondant had a marzipan color, not white as I expected it to be. Rubbing the fondant too much after covering the cake makes the fondant shiny, so don´t touch it unnecessarily. I was so unhappy with the fondant that I decided to take it off the cake. I won´t be using this recipe again, but I´m glad it works for others. Btw, the taste is ok, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I found this too greasy and too soft to do anything with...it cracked and tore apart. It did look really pretty and white in the bowl but it was a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Very good recipe to work with. Even tasted way better than the stuff you can buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Alphs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kiester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States